Links Less Ordinary 3

Tree-Lined

Welcome to the weekend and to the 3rd edition of Links Less Ordinary. Why don’t you grab yourself a mug of your favourite beverage and settle down to some really great, inspirational reading?

Hey wait… nothing spectacular? Do you see that blue sky? the green grass? The air is clear; the land is litter free. There are no obnoxious odors, loud noises, traffic sounds. The trees are beginning to green a bit, the grassy path is a spongy cushion under tired feet. Not spectacular?

It was three years ago today that they wheeled me in for emergency surgery, and I said goodbye to my wife, not quite three-year-old daughter, and newborn son. I knew that sometimes people don’t wake up from brain surgery, and this might be the last time I saw them.

  • Every time I head over to David Masters’ blog, Be Playful, I find something that makes me think in a new way and it is always so exquisitely written. Believe me, you’re going to want to add this blog to your feed reader!  Just check out this great post, How To Be An Everyday Clown:

Clowns are brilliant. They bring joy and laughter to the world. They’re larger than life, clumsy, confused, very silly, and full of nonsense. I’ve been reading a lot about clowns and jesters recently, working out how to be a clown in my everyday life

  • A longtime friend of Lives Less Ordinary, Damien Riley, has recently refocussed his blog, Postcards From the Funny Farm, to concentrate on the topic of psychology and inspiration. It’s a topic Damien writes really well on as this post, Free Your Brain, illustrates:

I’ve become inescapably fascinated with the brain in the past decade. I’ve begun to see our thoughts in a new way: organic. Just like fertilizer helps a tomato to grow ripe and delicious, so our brains are in a cyclical process of bloom and wilt all the time.

  • Last, but by no means least, Wendikelly from Life’s Little Inspirations has a great post up for Mothers Day (US), A Mother’s Gratitude,  in which she shares a beautifully moving poem written by her then-16 year old daughter.  Why don’t you head on over and read what she has to say about motherhood:

I learned about unconditional love. I learned about commitment. I learned about priorities. (You learn about that sort of thing in the middle of the night with an asthmatic child who can’t breathe and you haven’t slept in three days.) I learned about money. I learned about not having any.

Well, those are just some of the posts I enjoyed reading over the last 7 days.  What posts gave you inspiration this week?  Or maybe you wrote a post that you’re particularly proud of and would like to share it with the rest of us here?

May 9, 2008. Links Less Ordinary.

11 Comments

  1. wendikelly replied:

    Amy, thank you for featuring myMother’s day post. That means a lot to me because it is a gift that I would like to share with Mothers everywhere.
    I have to say that you picked my most favorite one of the week already- Brian had me in tears.
    (Of course Brett at six weeks needed a kleenex alert with the one about his wife when he wrote My Hero.So that would be another one.)
    I just discoverd David’s blog today after following daz over there. It was great! I know that will become a favorite. I am honored to be in such amazing company. Thank you!

  2. Damien replied:

    Thank you so much for the mention. Also, I was reminded to get beplayful on my list, he really has a great thing going there. Thanks for the reminder!

  3. Joanna Young replied:

    Thanks for sharing those links Amy, this is a great way to add some quality blogs to my feedreader, as well as to revisit some favourites

    I liked ‘nothing spectacular’ in particular, such a powerful wake up call to see the spectacular in the everyday.

    Joanna

  4. lifeinperpetualbeta replied:

    Wow! What a beautiful and unassuming article. Thank you for the links to these amazing people. I think it’s a sign of a truly great writer who can put something into words and make the reader curious enough to find out more. (I know links make this easy online, but to actually click on each one from one single post is quite an accomplishment). Can’t wait to read more.

  5. JUNIOR replied:

    OHHHH I LOVE THESE PICS WHERE I LIVE IT KINDA LOOK LIKE THIS IS BEAUTIFUL TOO WHERE I LIVE BFGHJUNIOR92@YAHOO.COM

  6. amypalko replied:

    Oh, Wendikelly, you most certainly deserve to be here! Brian’s post was great, wasn’t it? I included Brett’s moving tribute to his wife in the last Links Less Ordinary as it was such a beautifully written, heartfelt post. I’m so thankful that there are those, such as yourself and others, that are writing such inspirational words and sharing them with me. Thank you so much, Wendikelly :-)

    Happy to send more readers your way, Damien :-)
    David’s blog is a real find, isn’t it?

    It’s a special gift to help others to see the spectacular in the everyday, and it’s something that Bo does so well, don’t you think, Joanna?

    What a lovely comment, Lifeinperpetualbeta! Thank you so much for visiting and I’m glad you enjoyed the links.

    Glad you like the pics, Junior :-)

  7. Sassy Mama Bear replied:

    Amy love your posts inspire me.

  8. David replied:

    Amy,

    Sorry for not getting back to you sooner – things are a bit manic at the moment with the end of term/degree exam&essay rush.

    Just wanted to say thank you for including beplayful in your links this week, so: thank you!

    Let me know if there’s anything I can do for you.

    P.S. Damien – very glad to hear that you’ve signed up to my feed.

  9. Sheila replied:

    Amy, I am delighted about discovering your blog! I began blogging and exploring other blogs in March. Your blog is exactly what I have been searching for! Your writing is lyrical and your photography exquisite! In fact, I took a break from my work this morning to enjoy reading your posts and your readers’ comments. In your May 9th post, you asked, “What posts gave you inspiration this week?”. You posts inspired me and made my heart sing!
    Most gratefully,
    Sheila

  10. amypalko replied:

    Aw, thank you, Sassy Mamma Bear :-) I’m honoured!

    Oh, you are most welcome, David!

    Thank you so much for the beautiful compliment, Shiela. Your words are really so appreciated :-)

  11. toni replied:

    Those links are all interesting, but your photo just took my breath away. Wow.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

