An Island Exploration

On Friday night, we decided that we would go for an explore the following day. We opened up our Ordinance Survey maps – you know, the kind that unfold to enormous proportions and then rebel against being manipulated back to their original position – and started planning. After discounting a few places, we decided on heading back to Loch Lomond. Now you may remember, if you’ve been a reader here for a while, I visited Loch Lomond towards the end of last year, when the greenery was provided by coniferous trees only, bare branches jutted into view, and the low lying sun sank all too soon on that cold, frosty day. Loch Lomond, however, is actually renowned for its oak forests, and I wanted to see them in all their glory, not stripped of all leaves, naked and dormant.

After scanning our maps, we eventually spotted an island that seemed to have a boat link and chose that as our destination. It’s called Inchcailloch, and there is a woodland walk the whole way around it. We hired a boat to take us across the short stretch of water from Balmaha to the north jetty on Inchcailloch and began our trek.

The great thing about Inchcailloch is that there is so much to see and yet it only takes a couple of hours to walk all the way round. It was inhabited at one point, and there remains the foundations of a church and a graveyard with graves dating from 1600s to 1910. There are also lots of wildflowers, insects, deer and plantlife to identify, which certainly kept the kids occupied!

Anyway, here are some shots from the day. Enjoy!

Rope on a Boat

Balmaha Boats

Beach Life

A Good Place To Rest

Loch Lomond in Blue

Canopy

Here Lies...

Where did you last go for an explore?  What did you find when you got there?

June 1, 2008. Environment, Photography.

15 Comments

  1. This Eclectic Life replied:

    Absolutely lovely place to visit. We don’t have anything like that close by, and with the price of gasoline we don’t get to explore much. Urban exploration is about the best we do. Unfortunately, I find stores to spend money I should save for gas!

  2. Damien Franco replied:

    Stunning work. I wish I was there right now.

  3. DeafMom replied:

    Very nice pictures! My last exploration was on the island of Oahu– it was simply beautiful there once we got away from the urban areas.

  4. morag lloyds replied:

    I LOVE the image looking up into the trees.!

  5. Nadine T. replied:

    I love islands. I love the photo of the mountains with the bench in front.

  6. Joanna Young replied:

    What gorgeous photos Amy, and I’m so glad you picked the good day of the weekend to go exploring. It would have been a wash out today!

    I didn’t exactly go exploring yesterday but I did do something I hadn’t done before – walk from Slateford to Leith along the river (with canal walk for the first leg). It was fun walking all the way (8 miles in total) through the city centre without going along roads other than to cross them. It helped me to see the city in a different light.

    Joanna

  7. Ulla replied:

    I love your pictures, especially that one with the bench. The intensity of the blue colour is amazing. By the way, I admire your combination of words and pictures – that’s a thing I would very much like to learn of you!

  8. travelerstales replied:

    Very nice! I’ve been too busy to go really exploring for a while. Thank you for letting me do it vicariously through you.

  9. Allison replied:

    Beautiful pictures… the colors are so vibrant!

  10. Sassy Mama Bear replied:

    Does a local motorcycle show count? We actually found some great cycles from classic to customs. Met some cool people, all who are trying to convince I could drive a cycle myself, I don’t know about that.
    Love the pictures, you are really growing with your phtoography, and every picture shows it.

  11. Brad Shorr replied:

    Absolutely beautiful, bursting with color. I especially like the composition of the bench in front of the panorama of the lake and hills.

  12. Karen Swim replied:

    Oh Amy, I wanted to hop in the boat and explore as I viewed these incredible pictures. I haven’t explored anything lately and fear I’m quite overdue. This place looks so inviting. You have managed to put me in a total state of relaxation with these photos. Thank you Amy!

  13. LivSimpl replied:

    Beautiful pictures! You’ve inspired me to go visit a nearby park my wife and I have been talking about going to for years, but haven’t gotten around to.

  14. gilda replied:

    holy schmoly!!! those pictures are amazing!!! did you touch them up or was the place really this color? WOW!!!

  15. amypalko replied:

    Sometimes the best visits are to those places right beside us, Shelly :-)

    So do I, Damien!

    Oh, I am envious indeed, DeafMom. I would simply love to go to Oahu!

    I love that one too, Morag. I loved all the different shapes of the rowan, birch and oak leaves.

    I love islands too, Nadine, and this was a particularly special one :-)

    Oh, I love that walk, Joanna! My husband and I walked along there last November. You can see some of my pics from then in this post with a slideshow.

    Thanks Ulla! I’m sure the potential to combine words with photos is within you, and all you need to do is experiment with it :-)

    It’s terrible when life gets in the way of adventures, isn’t it, Travelerstales? Wishing you some spare time to enjoy one soon!

    Thanks Allison! It was the colours that really amazed me on the day too.

    It absolutely counts, Sassy Mama Bear! Glad you had fun :-)

    That shot with the bench and the view appears to be a favourite for a few people, Brad. I obviously did something right with that one!

    Oh, I’m so glad, Karen. It was such a special experience, that I really wanted to capture and share it with you all :-)

    I do hope you’ll take some photos while you’re there, LivSimpl!

    Thanks Gilda! I do edit my photos, although I didn’t exaggerate the colour as much as you’d think in the ones I took that day. It truly was that vibrant!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

