Flights of Fancy

flights of fancy

Isn’t that painting magnificent? It’s by an artist called Rob Gonsalves. If you would like to see some more of his work, head over to Optical Illusions as Mr Illusion has posted another 35! All of the paintings make you look again and reassess what you are seeing. I particularly like this one as it correlates the opening of a book to an opening of a door. I passionately believe that books can offer us a way of understanding the world and our experience in it, and this painting evokes this for me. It is art like this that revives my sense of wonder.

August 23, 2007. Inspiration.

3 Comments

  1. Autumn Song replied:

    Great painting, Amy. I love the idea that opening a book is like opening a door to somewhere else.

    Glad to see you’re blogging again – I’ve missed you!

  2. amypalko replied:

    Thanks, Autumn Song. I found some other paintings the other day which are similar to these ones. Will post them soon!

  3. More Fanciful Flights « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […] I take the time to browse. One of my latest finds is an artist called Jacek Yerka. If you liked the paintings I posted about recently, then I think you’ll like these too. When I look at his work it makes me want to live in his […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

