Farmer’s Market

Yesterday morning we went to the farmer’s market which is held in Edinburgh every Saturday. We go every week to do our shopping, and every week the difference between my experience of food shopping at our local supermarket and at this wonderful collection of individual producers is brought home to me. Wandering up and down the market, I am filled with ideas for the week’s meals: venison steaks with redcurrant jelly, garlic mushrooms on toast, sausage and tomato casserole… I’m beginning to make myself hungry just thinking about it! But, you know, it’s not just the food that keeps me going back to the market; it’s the people. I love meeting the people behind the stalls. I like to be recognised and looked for week after week. I like the fact that the children can ask questions about where their food comes from. I like to hear stories about what’s happening on the farm. Really, the shopping experience of the farmer’s market is quite incomparable to that of the supermarket.
Do you have a farmer’s market near where you live?  What do you like about it?

August 26, 2007. Creativity.

One Comment

  1. 50 Things I Love About Scotland « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […] Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market: see this post. […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

