Taking the Plunge

_44000062_new_pugh203.jpg

In July of this year, Lewis Gordon Pugh swam 1km at the north pole. It is such an incredible achievement! The footage that I saw at the time, still astounds me. Here is a video where you can watch the swim:

You can also watch Lewis being interviewed by the BBC, and you can read the news report here. During the interview Lewis said:

“The water was absolutely black. It was like jumping into a dark black hole. It was frightening. The pain was immediate and felt like my body was on fire. I was in excruciating pain from beginning to end and I nearly quit on a few occasions.”

This kind of achievement is so extraordinary, and yet also incredibly encouraging. Look what human beings are capable of! Lewis, on his website, says

“everyone can push boundaries in their own field. I hope my efforts inspire you to plunge in. Maybe not with trunks and goggles! But on a personal level. Embracing dreams, and understanding that very few things are impossible to achieve.”

Isn’t that a great philosophy for life!

August 27, 2007. Inspiration.

One Comment

  1. Thursday Thirteen - Rules To Live By « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […] Inspired – I love to be inspired by art, by philosophy, by technology, but mostly by people. People amaze me! Their achievements and their creativity appear to have no bounds, and in turn I find that I am […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

