Somewhere Over the Rainbow

I’ve just received word that my two eldest kids have an audition for the Edinburgh Lyceum’s Christmas production of Wizard of Oz. They are both so excited! Last year, instead of the traditional pantomime, our special Christmas outing was to see the digitally remastered edition of Wizard of Oz, and this year they get the opportunity to be in a performance of it. Although I’ve seen the film more times than I can remember, there’s something about that it makes it seem new every time. That part in the film when it moves from black and white to glorious technicolor is still breathtaking, the poppy field is still intoxicatingly beautiful, the flying monkeys still terrifying, the homecoming still moving. I don’t think that I’ve ever watched that film without dissolving into tears at the end! Anyway, to wish my kids luck for the upcoming audition, here’s Judy Garland singing ‘Somewhere Over the Rainbow”.

Keep your fingers crossed for them, and I’ll let you know how they get on!

August 29, 2007. Inspiration.

3 Comments

  1. Sugar Mouse In The Rain replied:

    Congrats for the new blog theme. I like the layout except for the categories section. I think it should go into the sidebar or the top.

  2. amypalko replied:

    Yes, I was thinking that too, Sugar Mouse. Haven’t quite figured out how to fix it yet…

  3. Disappointed But Dignified « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […] But Dignified The kids had their audition today for The Wizard of Oz, and unfortunately they didn’t get a part. The way the audition […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

