Plush Petals

Rose Petals

I have a gorgeous red climbing rose in my front garden and it is flowering for the second time this year.  When I was taking my wander to clear my head yesterday, after a long day of study, I noticed that five of the flowers were almost past.  I took off the heads, with the intention of encouraging more blooms, and I took the five heads into the house.  Their scent was utterly intoxicating, so I’ve decided that rather than just display them, which had been my intention, I’m going to make some rose water from them.  Using the recipe from my daughter’s Glorious Book for Girls, I’m going to give it a shot.  I remember collecting rose petals at my grandparents’ house and mashing them up in water to make my own perfumes.  Invariably I was left with a soggy mess that, after the first 24 hours, smelled pretty awful!  Hopefully, my attempt this time will be considerably more successful!

Rose Water (recipe from The Glorious Book for Girls by Rosemary Davidson and Sarah Vine)

  • 2 cups distilled water
  • 1/4 cup vodka
  • 1 large clear bottle
  • 2 cups strong-smelling rose petals (organically grown if to be used for drinking or cooking)

Put the rose petals into your clean and well-rinsed container.  Add distilled water and then the vodka.  Stopper the bottle and shake well.  Put the bottle in the sun – a windowsill which catches direct sunlight is perfect.  After two weeks the water will be ready.  Strain the liquid through a coffee filter or clean muslin cloth into another very clean and rinsed glass bottle and store in the fridge.  You can make stronger- scented rose water by adding one or two drops of essential rose oil.

September 3, 2007. Creativity.

One Comment

  1. Rose Water « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […] Finally made the rose water that I gave the recipe for in an earlier post. It has to sit for a fortnight now. I don’t know if I can wait a whole two […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

