A Herb Revival

About 4 months ago, we got a rather horrid surprise in the garden; we discovered that all our herbs were coated in creosote. After putting 2 and 2 together we figured out that our next-door neighbours had used a high power spray to coat their side of the shared fence, which divides the two properties, with creosote, and that, through the gaps, the creosote had spread considerably further than they realised. It not only coated my herb garden, but also my kitchen window and my whirly (although thankfully my washing wasn’t out that day!). However, it was the loss of my herbs that most upset me. My neighbours very apologetically gave us money to purchase replacements, but it was still with heavy heart that we pulled up the red-flecked plants and put them in the garden refuse bin. Although it was upsetting, at least there was the consolation that it was accidental; Gayla, over at You Grow Girl, has suffered the distress of a garden deliberately vandalised, which, I would assume, must be infinitely worse. Anyway, my replacement herbs are doing extremely well, and have established pretty quickly. Here are a few photos from this morning of a herb garden reborn:

Angelica Stems

Angelica Stems

Purple Sage

Purple Sage

Apple Mint

Apple Mint

Flowering Marjoram

Marjoram

Flowering Chicory

Chicory

September 4, 2007. Environment, Photography.

6 Comments

  1. bobleckridge replied:

    ooh! I vote for the Chicory! Gorgeous! What a stunning colour!

  2. amypalko replied:

    The chicory photo worked out really nice, didn’t it! I actually wanted to get a picture with the sun on it, but I’ve not managed it yet. Doesn’t look like I’ll get one today either!

  3. This Eclectic Life replied:

    I love apple mint (and pineapple mint, which has overtaken my whole yard because I didn’t contain it…duh). The picture of the chicory is very lovely.

    If you are a gardener like me, losing the garden would have been painful because I don’t buy all my plants, they get given to me by other gardeners. They have “memories” attached. Sorry that happened to you, but it looks like it is bouncing back.
    Thanks for the photos. It was a nice way to start my morning!

  4. amypalko replied:

    Some of my plants are bought, whilst others have been donated as cuttings from other people’s gardens (the heliotrope, buddleia, and lavetera). Funny story about the mint, actually. We planted it last year, but thought that we had lost it over winter. We then discovered it had sprung up in the neighbours’ garden! They cut it back, and it has obviously decided now that our garden’s a safer bet, and is flourishing beside the rest of the herbs. Mint is surprisingly resilient, isn’t it!?

  5. jo(e) replied:

    Oh, how horrible to find your garden sprayed with creosote!

    The photo of the chicory is especially lovely.

  6. amypalko replied:

    I won’t deny it, Jo(e), tears were shed! It helped that the neighbours were so sorry about it though. I’m glad you liked the photos.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

