Only The Good – Building Blocks

Building Blocks

For this week’s ‘Only The Good‘ project, I chose this photo that I took last week whilst round at my brother’s house. They have a full length window, as you can see, out to the back garden, and so they get lots of lovely sunshine pouring into their lounge. There is often a lovely light in that room which seems so conducive to taking photographs. When I took this photo, the yellow blocks in the foreground almost seemed as though they were the source of the light, rather than the sun. I’ve actually posted another photo from this room because I liked the way the light played upon the brightly coloured children’s toys.

So, over to you. What can you see in this photograph that’s good?

September 5, 2007. Environment.

7 Comments

  1. This Eclectic Life replied:

    I do love the light in this photograph. I see toys that indicate children playing, and can almost hear the house reverberate with their laughter. I see lots of space for that playing. And, the door to the outside beckons me to go explore. Good photo!

  2. Nancy Bond replied:

    This photo speaks to me of children playing happily… of a warm, sunny day that perhaps lured the children outside for a while. The sun has changed shadow into light…and that’s what OTG is all about. 🙂

  3. amypalko replied:

    Thank you Nancy and Shelly. The reason the kids were inside, though, is that last week the air seemed to change, and all of a sudden there was a chill that hadn’t been there before. Even though we’ve had a pretty wet summer here in the UK, it has been fairly warm. Last week, though, that seemed to change. We may be a few weeks off ‘official’ autumn, but that is most definitely autumnal sunshine streaming through the window!

  4. Sugar Mouse In The Rain replied:

    I love the warmth created by the light and the fact that this is a playground where kids have fun.

  5. amypalko replied:

    Thank you, Sugar Mouse! It is a very warm scene isn’t it.

  6. mo replied:

    I see “quiet time”; the little ones off for an afternoon nap, maybe, and the toys, loved but temporarily forgotten, while mom reads to the children or sings them to sleep…

    Great photo!

  7. amypalko replied:

    I think your interpretation sounds lovely and far more peaceful that the actuality. I think at the time I took the photo, my kids were charging up and down the hall pushing my 1 year old niece in her new push-a-long. Lovely but very rowdy :o) Roll on nap time!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

