Only The Good – Celtic Knot

Celtic Knot Grave

Well, this is my week’s contribution to the Only The Good Project; the project which asks that we ‘study a photo and, no matter how mundane, ugly, or shattered the subject might be, find something good in the picture. Find only the good, and leave a comment.’  It is hoped that this will encourage ‘people to look at the world in a different way, to acknowledge–if only for the brief time they do this exercise–that there is good in everything and everyone…to briefly change shadow to light.

So, I took this photo at the weekend in the same cemetery as I found The Amiable American Stranger.  I spotted it just as I was leaving, climbing the steps back up onto Prince’s Street, which I must have climbed many times before.  I don’t know why I noticed this grave, when I had never paid it any attention before.  Maybe it was the light, or maybe my goal to become more aware of my environment is beginning to pay off.

Anyway, over to you…  What’s good about this picture?

September 12, 2007. Environment.

6 Comments

  1. Nancy Bond replied:

    First of all, the Celtic Cross is beautiful in its own right–there are triquestas inside the cross, which signify the Trinity, so this grave may mark one’s life who was devotedly spiritual. I love the contrast of materials here–brick wall, stone cross, green foliage. And the way the sun is slanted and dappled on the grave speaks of light, replacing shadow.

  2. amypalko replied:

    Thank you, Nancy! I didn’t know that about the triquestas. Also, I think it was partly the quality of the light that caught my attention, so I love your observation about light replacing shadow.

  3. mo replied:

    As a lover of all things Celtic, I was intriqued by this marker…that’s interesting that you should provide that info on the triquestas represent the Trinity. As a pagan, I have been taught that it is represents the three aspects of the Goddess – Maiden, Mother, and Crone.

    ..interesting to learn…

  4. amypalko replied:

    You realise now, that I’m going to have to go back to this marker for a closer look! I didn’t even know what a triquesta was, let alone that I had taken a photograph of some. It really is true; you do learn something new every day! Thanks, Mo.

  5. Marcia (MeeAugraphie) replied:

    I love the symmetry of Celtic crosses. I see that someone was remembered in a beautiful way; that nature has been respectful in accenting the grave but not encroaching or hiding the words. The scene captured feels like a secret garden, full of quiet memories waiting to be shared if we stop and listen to the stirring air. I’m glad your dad told you to take the camera with you everywhere.

    I do the same.

  6. amypalko replied:

    It does feel like a secret garden, doesn’t it! The strange thing is is that it’s right next to Prince’s St, one of the busiest thoroughfare in Edinburgh, and yet it feels like a small oasis of calm and quiet. Thank you for finding the good, Marcia!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

