Gifts From Tokyo

I just wanted to share the beautiful gifts that my parents brought back for me from Tokyo. Opening up the bag, with the miniature origami crane on the front, it felt like Christmas morning, and I was rummaging through my Christmas stocking! Anyway, here are some photos of the bag and the contents:

Gift Bag

This is the gift bag. See how tiny the origami crane is!

Origami Crane

Here it is close up.

Tokyo Gifts

And this is what was inside: origami paper, camera bag, bookmarks, postcard, fabric picture frame, and, in the background, a vintage silk kimono-style jacket.

Vinage Japanese Jacket

Here is the jacket by itself. Isn’t it beautiful? I’ve got a wedding to go to next month, so I think I’m going to wear this over my dress.

Jacket Fabric

Here’s a close up of the fabric. I just love this so much! I feel like an exceptionally lucky person!

September 19, 2007. Inspiration.

2 Comments

  1. gilda replied:

    i just bought a vintage kimono myself!! aren’t they just gorgeous? i love it!

  2. amypalko replied:

    My mum picked this up in an antique market in Tokyo, and she said that there was a whole pile of them to rummage through. There was a special deal on, which meant that if you bought one, you could buy a second one for half price. Mum chose six and was given a seventh for free. When she worked it out, she realised that she had paid less than a pound per item! It was like the bargain of the century! I just love mine as there are so many colours in it that it will go with quite a few items in my wardrobe. What colour is yours?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

