Love Yourself Meme

I discovered this morning that I have been tagged by Wolfie, to share with you three things that I love about myself.  It is a meme started by Praise Fiddler over at Joy Unspeakable in order to encourage us to appreciate our self worth.  Now, I have to say up front that the meme is phrased with a distinctly Christian bias, and that, as someone who doesn’t consider herself a Christian, this does make me feel uncomfortable.  However, the ethos of the meme is something that I support wholeheartedly, which is why I have decided to participate.  The rules of the meme include that I should include the original post in my own response, which I will do, but with a disclaimer that the religious element does not reflect my own beliefs.  It is my hope that this disclaimer is not viewed as offensive, but I felt that it would have affected the authenticity of this blog not to include it.  So, without further ado, here is the original post:

I’m declaring this – the first week of October – love yourself week. Who am I to declare anything? Well I’m nobody really, but since I AM declaring this love yourself week then I am loving myself enough to have the confidence to declare that this is love yourself week – got that?
Anyway, the bible commands us to love ourselves: Matthew 22:39
And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself. So I’m obeying. I am tired of not having good self esteem. I’m tired of talking down to myself. I want to do something about it. I’m going to start by changing my poor attitude about my self worth into something great. How do I plan to do this? Well like I said – by declaring this love yourself week. I know I’m not the only one in this world with poor self esteem. It’s my desire that all people – girls, women, and even some of you males out there, have a great attitude about what God has given you. We are all created in the image and likeness of God. To put yourself down is like telling God that he doesn’t know what he’s doing! Would you dare call God fat or stupid or ugly? No way! But the next time you talk bad about yourself think about who you are really insulting!

Here’s how this is going to work – I’m going to write 3 nice things about myself everyday this week and I’m going to tag others to join me. Those tagged must then repost this message along with their 3 things and tag someone else. You can write anything about physical appearance, talent or even personality as long as it’s at least 3 things. It’s time to take joy in the person we are, and the life God has given us. If you decide to join me in this please leave me a comment to let me know. God bless all of you and happy love yourself week!

OK, so what do I love about myself?

  1. I have a great memory.  I find it easy to retain information, be it narratives, quotations, childhood experiences, what I had for dinner 10 years ago…  Most of it is completely useless, but sometimes it comes in very handy, particularly when I’m doing my research, either for my phd or for when I’m acting as a media consultant for other projects. For a long time I thought that everyone had the kind of memory that I do, but recently it was pointed out to me (when I wrote my first Thursday Thirteen) that it’s quite unusual.  Also, when a group of teachers recently tried to put together a course similar to the one I consulted on, they discovered that they couldn’t do what I do, which is to come up with movies, art, literature, images etc. that are relevant to the course material. It’s then that I started to appreciate my memory as a more unique gift than I had originally realised.
  2. I am good at networking.  It’s perhaps a bit of a cheat to say that, one of the things I love about myself is that I love other people, but I do!  I enjoy meeting new friends.  I enjoy catching up with old friends.  I love bouncing new ideas off people, and hearing what their new ideas are.  I remember when I was on my way to move into the university’s halls of residence at the age of 17, I was so scared about leaving home and living with a bunch of complete strangers. My mum told me that they weren’t strangers; they were just friends I hadn’t met yet.  I have tried to carry this with me whenever I find myself in new situations, and I can now honestly say that I have friends all over the world.
  3. I am a good public speaker.  This is something that I’ve only discovered about myself in the last couple of years.  Through giving numerous papers at conference, I have found that I am good at engaging my audience, the tone of my voice is modulated, my accent is present, but it is soft and clear, and that I certainly don’t have a problem with projection.  Someone recently told me that it was like I switched on a microphone when I begin to deliver my speech.  I think that has something to do with having three children who often speak over the top of each other; if I couldn’t speak loudly then I would never make myself heard in my own house!

So, that’s my three.  Now, who to choose….  OK, I tag

  1. Shelly at This Eclectic Life
  2. Jo(e) at Jo(e)’s Page
  3. Robin at A Fondness For Reading

And, of course, anyone who reads this and wants to join in, consider yourself tagged too!

October 3, 2007. Inspiration.

7 Comments

  1. Wolfie replied:

    Oops…sorrie abt the religious part..didn’t realise tat u’re not a Christian..hope u dun mind..
    Have a great week..

  2. amypalko replied:

    Wolfie, I don’t mind at all! I feel grateful that you thought of me in the first place 🙂 I just felt I needed to clarify my position in relation to the original post. And like I said, I fully support the ethos to increase the self-esteem of myself and those around me in both my real and virtual world. So, thank you again, Wolfie, for tagging me and giving me the opportunity to assess and appreciate what I like about myself 😉

  3. vigilant20 replied:

    Well said! I’d have to say those are all weaknesses of mine. I have no memory for things I don’t find of interest to me at the time…which always includes names and dates. It’s interesting to see how different we all are, and how important it is that we are, because we all have our different callings.

  4. amypalko replied:

    I couldn’t agree more, Vigilant20! It is our individuality and our uniqueness that make us special, and which allow us to contribute to our communities. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment!

  5. Thursday Thirteen - Memorable Moments « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […] I was tagged earlier today by Wolfie with a meme in which I had to come up with three things that I loved most about myself. My first choice was my memory, and this got me thinking about my most memorable moments. So, […]

  6. CandyQ replied:

    Hi! I love your blog… can I add you to my blog roll if that’s okay? Thanks! :o)

  7. amypalko replied:

    Yes, of course, CandyQ! I’m glad you like it so much 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

