Thursday Thirteen – Memorable Moments

I was tagged earlier today by Wolfie with a meme in which I had to come up with three things that I loved most about myself. My first choice was my memory, and this got me thinking about my most memorable moments. So, I’ve decided to make this the focus for my Thursday Thirteen.

  1. Most Silent – When I first started university I was extremely nervous. Everything was so new and different! So, after my first night in the halls of residence, I completely lost my voice for a whole week. If that’s not psychosomatic, then I don’t know what is!
  2. Most Relieved – When my daughter was about 18 months, she developed a bad cold, so I bought one of those Karvol devices that you plug into an electric socket, and the heat releases menthol and eucalyptus vapours to help kiddies breathe better. I used to plug it in after she was sleeping and then remove it when I went to bed, as I didn’t want her to get hold of it. One evening after I had plugged it in and come downstairs, I heard the most awful scream from her bedroom. I rushed upstairs to find her with the vapouriser in her lap and drool all down her front. I was completely convinced that she had drunk some of the contents, so phoned the hospital immediately, only to be told they were really busy and they would phone me back. They then called back around an hour later to tell me the Karvol was very toxic and to bring her in immediately. The relief set in once we got her round there and they discovered that she hadn’t ingested any. She didn’t try that again!
  3. Most Claustrophobic – On our first trip as a family to Australia, our youngest son was only 9 months, and so we borrowed one of those baby carriers which you have to carry on your back. We stayed at a small place called Metung in Victoria for a few days, and made a couple of excursions out to 90 mile beach, Wilson’s Prom etc. On one of our trips, we visited the Fairy Cave at Buchan. The leaflet said it was appropriate for children, but it wasn’t suitable for kids as young as our’s were! It was so dark and close, and on top of that we had our baby in this back carrier. We had to manoeuvre him around stalactites and stalagmites and through extremely narrow tunnels whilst trying to hold on to our 2 and 3 year olds. Boy, was I glad to see daylight again!
  4. Most Early – My earliest memory is climbing out of my cot and climbing onto my white melamine chest of drawers, and knocking over a small vase of snowdrops, spilling the water. I’m sure an analyst would have a field day with that!
  5. Most Life-Threatening – While walking my daughter home from Brownies two autumns ago, my youngest son tripped and fell as we were crossing the road. The older two continued to the other side, and I stopped to get him back on his feet again. No sooner did I have him standing than he tripped again! This time there was a car coming. It was already dark and we had dark clothing on (in retrospect, not a good plan!), so I panicked and pushed him across the road as he was falling. He landed on the pavement beside his brother and sister. I landed flat on my back in the middle of oncoming traffic. Thank goodness, the man driving the approaching car was traveling at a safe speed and had his headlights on, or I may not be typing this now.
  6. Most Scared – When I was 14 weeks pregnant with my last baby, I developed appendicitis. I remember feeling utterly terrified, as I was administered my general anaesthetic that a) I wouldn’t wake up again, and b) that when I did wake up I would have lost my baby. As it was, of course, all was well and I made a slow but steady recovery. All I have is a scar to show for it, and the baby just turned 6 years old, and is none the worse for the experience.
  7. Most Cold – Boxing Day, 1995, I had been out to a party at somebody’s house, which was situated on the other side of Edinburgh. Because it was Boxing Day, there were very few taxis to be found, so a group of us decided that we would just have to walk home. It was soooo cold. Every 15 minutes the whole group would stop and have a big group hug until we warmed up a little, and then we would continue on again. Eventually we managed to hail a taxi, who radioed for a second taxi to get us all home. We were seriously frozen by this time, and I think the cabbie was quite concerned for those he couldn’t fit into his taxi. The following morning, I saw on the news that the temperature had been -26 C the previous evening, and that some poor man had died from hypothermia on his way home. I’m just so thankful that we stuck together as a group, and kept ourselves as warm as we could. I don’t think it’s ever been that cold here since…
  8. Most Late – The latest I have ever been was on my wedding day. I was being chauffeur driven to the venue, and we got there about 5 minutes early. So, the driver said, “Let’s go round the block once, so you’re not there too soon.” Stupidly I agreed, and as is often the case in Edinburgh, we got stuck in a traffic jam caused by road works. Our simple trip around the block took half an hour. I was 25 minutes late. I’m sure my poor husband was convinced that I wasn’t going to turn up!
  9. Most Surprised – When I was 13 weeks pregnant with my middle child, I had a threatened miscarriage. It happened on a Friday evening, and so when I was taken in to hospital, I was told there was nothing they could do, and I would just have to come back on Monday for a scan. Things didn’t improve over the weekend, so when I turned up on the Monday, I was really expecting the worse. As I lay there, and the doctor moved the instrument over my tummy, a tiny little flutter appeared on the monitor. My little surprise baby.
  10. Most Weird – When I was 14, I went to a psychic who told me, amongst other things, that by the turn of the century, I would be married with two children, who would be so beautiful that people would stop me in the street to comment on them. I left thinking that this was quite possibly the biggest waste of money (I had not yet discovered time shares at this point!), as I calculated that I would only just have turned 21 by the turn of the century, and I certainly had no prospects for marriage on the horizon! However, in November 1999, as I pushed my double pram down the street, with my two small beautiful children in it, an elderly lady stopped to exclaim over the children, and I had one of those moments where time felt like it was folding back on itself. It was the turn of the century, I was married, I had two children who were so beautiful I was stopped in the street. I tried to go back to visit the psychic and to tell him how right he had been, but the shop was gone.
  11. Most Embarrassing – When I lived on the north coast of Scotland, I used to get regular visits from the local minister. I think he was hoping that at some point I would start attending his services, but he never brought it up, and was always pleasant company. One time he came round to visit though, I had put my two toddlers to bed for their nap, and I checked on them just after I had popped the kettle on. I knew something was up as I walked up the stairs because the smell was awful. When I opened the door I discovered the most disgusting sight I have ever had the displeasure to experience. They had managed to take their nappies off, and they had covered their toys, their books, their sheets, and themselves in poo. Needless to say, the minister made a quick exit, as I carried two smelly babies under each arm making a bee line for the bath. Not my finest moment!
  12. Most Lonely – A few years ago, I went on a research trip to the University of Maine. It was during the summer, so the uni was very quiet, and I was staying in a motel all by myself, while my family was back in Scotland. Some days, I would find myself back in the motel at 5pm after a day’s research at the library, and the only people I would have spoken to were the lady at reception and the librarian, and that was only to say “Hello” and “Can I have box 1031?”. I got a whole lot of work done, but I really missed the company of others, and, in particular, the company of my family.
  13. Most Brazen – The evening I met the man who was to become my husband, I was on a trip to Loch Ness. After the local pub closed that evening, all the customers headed back to someone’s house in the village for a party. I met my husband on the way to that party. We started talking, and basically continued talking for the whole night. When we both left the party, we started walking down the hill, heading back to the backpackers, and I held his hand. At this point he turned his head towards me to say something, but I thought he was going to kiss me, so before he could get a word out, I kissed him. 9 months later we were married; sometimes it pays to be a bit brazen!

Well, those are 13 of my most memorable moments. I would love to hear some of yours πŸ™‚

October 3, 2007. Inspiration.

40 Comments

  1. holli jo replied:

    I wanted to stop by to say thank you for visiting my blog. I am in love with yours! You are a wonderful writer and photographer.

    I’m very glad you’re getting up early to write – the world needs your words.

    Thanks again for visiting.

  2. amypalko replied:

    Thank you, Holli Jo. What a beautiful comment! That means so much to me πŸ™‚ It is so lovely to know that you read and enjoy my blog. And as for visiting your blog, you are most welcome. It was a pleasure! I subscribe to your feed, and I always enjoy your posts. I really appreciate your perspective on life. And your post on early rising was exactly what I needed, what with my early morning writing commitment. I have a feeling I’m going to need all the help I can get. I am so not a morning person!

  3. SusieJ replied:

    Did the minister ever come back after that? Hillarious.

  4. Chelle Y. replied:

    My most claustrophobic was when I was visiting an “old-fashioned” house. They had put in an elevator that was the size of the closet. Since I was in a wheelchair, I had to go up it with just the attendant (only two could fit in it).

    It stopped on the way up between floors. I could hear my sister laughing at me, but I thought that I was going to die!

  5. Yuriko replied:

    My most memorable when I was little was climbing out of the crib, running around, wreaking havoc, then climbing back in and pretending I didn’t do anything..

  6. Nicholas replied:

    Yours is one of my fave blogs. Thank you for putting so much work into your TT; I really enjoyed it. So, you spilled snowdrops onto a white surface when you were a toddler, eh? Vairry interesting!

  7. captain lifecruiser replied:

    Good thing that the appendicitis went well πŸ™‚ Makes me remember when I got appendicitis – exactly a week before we were going to take a trip to Scotland!!! My only worry was if I would have to cancel the trip… Luckily it was a uncomplicated appendicitis and the Doc approved my trip there.

    Oh, that #11 really is fun to read for me, maybe it’s fun for you too – afterwards… *giggles*

    ..and #13: Way to go! I’m happy for you – it’s the best when knowing that instantly that you belong to each other! It was like that for me and Mr Lifecruiser too πŸ™‚

  8. AF Wife replied:

    Awesome T13! I may have to ‘borrow’ this idea!

  9. Lori replied:

    Wow…#5 made me gasp!! Thank God everything turned out alright. Happy TT and thanks for sharing.

  10. Janet replied:

    boy, #11 sure turned out differently than I thought it was LOL!

  11. Susan Helene Gottfried replied:

    Happy TT! Your list brought back a lot of my own memories, some good, some not. Still, neat to revisit. Thanks.

  12. No Nonsense replied:

    What an awesome TT!!!!

  13. Yen replied:

    Hello Amy! I love your TT entry:) And I might snag this tag as well! I would be scared too if that happens to my little boy!

    Happy TT!

    πŸ˜€

  14. CandyQ replied:

    Beautiful TT… I loved #9. :o)

  15. Celticangel replied:

    I am glad that you didn’t freeze and that you were brazen at the right time. πŸ™‚

    My first memory is of my parents giving me a bath. I know that I was younger than 2 because of the house we were in.

    I believe that I was most relieved when my marriage ceremony was over. My husband is very shy and it took me forever to talk him into getting up in front of all those people to actually marry me. He didn’t run away and he got all of his lines correct. Heavens was I relieved.

  16. Jackie replied:

    All very interesting to read. πŸ™‚

    Happy TT!

  17. Wolfie replied:

    Wow..must have been a walk down ur memory lane ya..Have a great week..

  18. amypalko replied:

    Do you know, SusieJ, I don’t think he ever did!

    Chelle, that sounds completely horrid. It’s funny, because I don’t really consider myself to be claustrophobic, until I find myself in a too small place. I once got stuck in a lift, with my kids in their double buggy. Thankfully we were out within about 10 minutes, but I could feel the panic rising. Not fun!

    You sound like you were very cheeky when you were younger, Yuriko! Are you still as mischievous now?

    Oh, thank you Nicholas! What a lovely comment. I do put a lot of work into my TTs, but it is work of the most enjoyable sort πŸ™‚

    I’m glad your op was uncomplicated, Captain Lifecruiser, and you still got to make your trip. When I was in pre-op the head surgeon came and checked out my stomach and then with his colleague they began to try and work out where the appendix would be on a 14 week pregnant woman. Not the most reassuring of experiences! I imagined waking up to find more than one scar as they searched for my appendix πŸ˜‰ Oh, and number 11 is funny, but only retrospectively!

    AF Wife, you would be more than welcome to borrow the idea. I would love to read what you come up with. Let me know if you do!

    Number 5 made me gasp too, Lori!

    Janet, when the minister turned up, I really didn’t imagine the visit would end that way either πŸ˜‰

    It’s good to remember, isn’t it Susan Helene?

    Thank you, Nononsense Girl! I’m glad you enjoyed it πŸ™‚

    I’m so pleased you liked my TT this week, Yenny! If you do decide to do something similar, please let me know. I would love to read it!

    Thank you, Candy Q! You know, if I close my eyes, I can still see that little blurry flutter on the screen…

    I’m glad he made it up the aisle, Celtic Angel πŸ™‚ I think my husband’s most relieved moment may have been when I finally turned up to wedding! I think he was seriously beginning to think that I wasn’t going to show.

    I’m happy you enjoyed reading it, Jackie πŸ™‚

    It was good to have a wander down that lane, Wolfie. I don’t do it often enough, so thank you for tagging me and sparking off this TT idea πŸ™‚

  19. jennifer replied:

    Very cool post.

    MY 13 is up on
    Working at Home Mom

  20. amypalko replied:

    Thank you, Jennifer! I’ll go and check your TT out directly.

  21. Xakara replied:

    Thanks for having all of us along on your trip down memory lane. πŸ™‚

    My most claustrophic moment is one that left me with a fear of small spaces so acute, I’ll wake up from dreams where I have to get in a crowded elevator because my brain immediately sees it as a nightmare.

    The incident is from childhood, I want to say around 6. We were all playing hide and seek and I hid in an old toy chest in the basement. It was large enough to stretch out in and I feel asleep all nice and comfy. When I woke up, one of the adults had come downstairs for something and while looking had set something heavy on the box to get it out of their way. I was trapped and no one knew where I was for more than an hour.

    It gave me a life long fear of small spaces along with the belief that if I don’t panic, I can eventually get out of anything. Talk about a double-edge sword!

    Happy TT,

    ~X

  22. Amanda Regan (madamspud169) replied:

    I love your 13 things specially number 13, it made me laugh. I would have been absolutely mortified if it was me.

  23. Kelly replied:

    That was beautiful. Thank you for sharing with us!

    I started a new blog and I am going to do Memory Mondays. I will post a picture and tell the memory I have of it. should be fun. drop by Cheaper than a happy meal, leaver your email, and I will send an invite. πŸ™‚

    Have a great TT!

  24. amypalko replied:

    Memory lane is always so much more fun when you have company, don’t you think, Xakara? Your memory about being trapped in the box sounds absolutely terrifying! But I’m so glad that you have managed to see the positive in the experience πŸ˜‰

    I’m glad I made you laugh, Amanda! I have always had a very high threshold for mortification. The only things that phase me are ministers and dirty nappies!

    Thanks, Kelly! I’ll do that.

  25. marcia replied:

    i am w/ you on Claustaphobia caves are nice but dark and too scarey to keep track of yourself let alone little ones but that was fun to hear all those I have climbed a couple of mountains and the feeling of accomplishment while standing on top blowing in the wind, looking at the grandeur, and sliding down glaciers are amazing esp the one that was a 17 mile trek is very memorable for me esp since I could not do it now recouping from knee surgery.

  26. Nancy Bond replied:

    #’s 2, 5, & 6 are all scary! This is a great idea for a TT list!

  27. amypalko replied:

    Wow, Marcia! That must have given you an incredible feeling of achievement. Hope your knee gets better soon!

    Yes, they were, Nancy! I’m glad you liked the post πŸ™‚

  28. Cher replied:

    Very good post! Very in depth. I don’t even know if I can recall that much stuff.. old age is settling in LOL

  29. amypalko replied:

    Glad you liked it, Cher! It’s funny, because I can remember knocking over a vase of snowdrops 26 years ago, but if you asked me what I did yesterday, I’d be hard pressed to give you an answer. Memory is such a strange thing!

  30. Damozel replied:

    The best thing about memory is that you can sort of enjoy looking back on awful things like a near-miscarriage, a life threatening moment involving a child, or two poo-covered children and it’s all sort of okay,….That said, you’ve had an eventful life.

    thanks for visiting our blog and giving cockney robin some much-needed encouragement

  31. amypalko replied:

    You’re absolutely right, Damozel! At the time, things can seem to be quite overwhelming, but from a distance you can reflect and appreciate the outcomes; or if not appreciate exactly, come to terms with them. Oh, and you’re very welcome for the earlier comment. It was a good post, and it deserved an encouraging comment πŸ™‚

  32. Vixen replied:

    Oh what a wonderful TT. And each one was a great little story unto itself. Brazen is sometimes good, I agree! And I laugh now remember back to the poo covered little ones, it did not seem funny at the time but it is GREAT to tell the story to their friends when they are older!

  33. amypalko replied:

    Thank you, Vixen! And, yes, you’re right about the poo; it was awful at the time, but now it seems quite funny. I remember the minister making his excuses and running out the door, while I got the kids to stand in the bath, and then I phoned my mum to ask her what to do! I think the stench must have addled my brain, as I had no idea how to go about cleaning everything up. Oh dear… these things are sent to try us, right enough!

  34. Deb replied:

    That’s a great list and a wonderful idea for a T13 post! πŸ™‚

  35. amypalko replied:

    Thanks, Deb! I’m glad you enjoyed it πŸ™‚

  36. scooper replied:

    Some of those are very scary. I think I’d have had several mini breakdowns if these events happened to me.

  37. amypalko replied:

    Yeah, I suppose they are, Scooper. But, you know, they made me a stronger person; they made me the person I am today. So, I can’t regret that any of them happened to me. And, even although the mini breakdown option often seemed tempting, I almost always had people relying on me, which took away the breakdown option. I often find that, when I can’t be strong for myself, I can be strong for others. Thanks for taking the time to comment, Scooper πŸ™‚

  38. Thursday Thirteen - Rules To Live By « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […] My other TT posts: My Life in Scent, My Family, New Habits and Memorable Moments […]

  39. Thursday Thirteen - Ideas For The New Year « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […] My other TT posts: Christmas Wanderings, The Chill Out Zone, Fairy Tale Lessons, Favourite International Movies, My Passions, Dream Chasing, Origami Wishes, Birthday Nostalgia, Blogging Lessons, What I Found in Madrid, Rules To Live By, My Life in Scent, My Family, New Habits and Memorable Moments […]

  40. How To Live A Life Less Ordinary « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […] their presence, what you begin to do is share stories.Β  Through these stories you divulge not just previous experiences or past memories, but you also share the way that you view life, the way you see the world and your […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

