Garden Harvest

I’ve spent the afternoon digging up our veggie patch, and look what I found:

Onions and Potatoes

Spring Onion\

Besides from the onions, the potatoes and the spring onions, I also found some garlic. I’ve peeled all the cloves and I’ve put it them in some olive oil. This way I’ll have fresh garlic for longer, and I’ll have garlic infused oil. It looks good, too!

Garlic

This is our first year growing veggies, and we’ve had our success and our failures. It’s all a learning process though. There are some things I would repeat, and others I wouldn’t. For example, we grew purple sprouting brocolli, which would have been considered a big success, if anyone had liked the taste of it! As it is, it took over the small veg patch and nobody would eat it. Oh well! Also our pumpkin had some beautiful flowers, but no fruit. Don’t know quite what happened there… I’m really pleased with this current crop though!

October 4, 2007. Environment, Photography.

10 Comments

  1. Nancy Bond replied:

    Great pics! πŸ™‚

  2. amypalko replied:

    Thanks, Nancy! I took the photos outside, because the light is just beautiful this evening. They worked out quite well. If they taste as good as they look, I’ll be happy πŸ™‚

  3. fotokew replied:

    YUMMY!

  4. amypalko replied:

    My thought exactly, Fotokew!

  5. Cher replied:

    Oh my gosh! That all looks so yummy. Our garden died completely during all of the heat. I was soo sad.

  6. amypalko replied:

    Oh Cher, how devastating! I must say that we complain about the weather a lot here in Scotland, but heat is not normally a problem. Thank you for your comment!

  7. Marcia (MeeAugraphie) replied:

    Oh Amy, it makes me want to try a garden.

  8. amypalko replied:

    Well honestly, Marcia, if I can garden so can anyone πŸ™‚ I love looking at flowers and I love eating the homegrown veg, but I have to admit gardening doesn’t come naturally to me! I’m a long nails, high heels kind of person, so up to the elbows in muck is not, I feel, my natural state. But on days like this, it is worth it!

  9. Wolfie replied:

    U grow ur own veggies..? Wow..!! Looks nice ya..

  10. amypalko replied:

    Thanks, Wolfie. I’ll be using some of them in a soup today, so we’ll see if they taste as nice as I’m expecting!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

