Cabbage, But Not As We Know It!

I’ve spent today working on uni stuff, so when I’d finally finished, we decided to go on a trip to the garden centre. I love going to the garden centre! I love all the different colours and shapes and textures. I find it such a treat for the eye. Today they had a magnificent display of ornamental cabbage. I didn’t buy any, as I couldn’t think of where to put them, but I couldn’t resist taking a few photos (are you surprised!).

Cabbage 6

Cabbage 4

Cabbage 3

Cabbage 5

Cabbage 2

Cabbage 1

Who knew veg could be so pretty?

October 7, 2007. Environment, Photography.

10 Comments

  1. SusieJ replied:

    I had an idea — but this blows me away. Gorgeous

  2. amypalko replied:

    Thank you, Susie J! They blew me away too. My daughter was standing beside me asking, “Why are you taking photos of the cabbage?”, and I just kept enthusing over them.

  3. nouveaufauves replied:

    Love the berries….what ? Pyracantha? I have some berries that I have never posted. Yaupon I think maybe. I will post them you have reminded me.
    Your cabbages are great too. What great detailed close ups!

  4. amypalko replied:

    I’m sorry, Nouveaufaves, but I have no idea what these berries are called. They were growing in someone’s garden in Edinburgh, when I spotted them while waiting for my ride. I’m looking forward to seeing your berry photos though! Glad you liked the cabbages. I just couldn’t resist taking a few close-ups of the different varieties!

  5. Celticangel replied:

    I like the last one best. I’ve never seen it before.

  6. amypalko replied:

    They do look quite unusual, don’t they, Celtic Angel? There was a really long display of them, and I wish now that I had taken a photo of them en masse, and not just individual close-ups.

  7. CandyQ replied:

    Beautiful! :o)

  8. amypalko replied:

    Thank you, CandyQ!

  9. Lady Julianne Eternity replied:

    I never thought cabbage could be pretty, but this is lovely!

  10. amypalko replied:

    I must admit, Lady Julianne, that I didn’t either. It’s not for eating though – only for show!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

