Only The Good – Withered Blooms

Withered Blooms 2

Withered Blooms 1

I’m not very good at throwing away my flowers once they’re past. These roses are still sitting in my kitchen, and I’ve been meaning to throw them out for the last week. Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to find the good in this picture of my withered blooms.

I’ve posted this photo as part of the Only The Good project, so tell me, what good can you see in this photo?

The Only The Good project is to get people to look at the world in a different way, to acknowledge–if only for the brief time they do this exercise–that there is good in everything and everyone…to briefly change shadow to light.”

If you would like to take part, you can either leave a comment on this post which focuses on ‘only the good’ that you can see in the photo. If you have a blog and would like to participate you can

“Post an original photograph that may at first seem rather ordinary–a photo in which the good isn’t immediately obvious–and invite people to comment. A brief explanation of the photo’s subject, where it was taken, etc. may be provided. I urge you to use only original photographs so that copyright infringement is not an issue.”

Please visit the other participants! Tumbled Words, Soliloquy, Inside Mo’s Mind, This Eclectic Life, Life in Westcliffe, Miscellaneous Matters.

October 10, 2007. Environment.

4 Comments

  1. Nancy Bond replied:

    I can almost smell these roses…inside that tightly folded, albeit withered exterior, I’m sure the petals are still colorful and fragrant. 🙂 The roses speak of someone’s generosity–perhaps they were a gift to mark a birthday or anniversary? Or perhaps they were fresh from your garden. Either way, there is much good in this tired bloom. 🙂

  2. amypalko replied:

    The roses were a beautiful “just because” gift from my Mum, who is one of the most generous people I know. Thank you, Nancy, for taking the time to find the good :-).

  3. Marcia (MeeAugraphie) replied:

    The roses in their current state remind me of expensive silk roses, but i love the colors and the texture of these roses. This rose is closed as if holding a secret safe… I wonder what it is.

  4. amypalko replied:

    They do look a a little like silk roses, don’t they, Marcia? I love the idea that it’s holding a secret safe inside!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

