Domestically Challenged

Domestic Goddess

Ok, so I have a confession to make: domesticity does not come naturally to me. I really don’t know how anybody coped in the days before domestic appliances, but to be completely honest, even they terrify me. My last washing machine broke in spectacular fashion (cue deafening noise and sparks), and ever since then I can’t stand to be in the kitchen when it’s in its spin cycle. You see, clutter doesn’t bother me, and because it doesn’t bother me, I don’t tend to see it. I know it drives others to distraction, but my mind is so full of other things that, by the end of a day spent, reading, blogging, writing, helping out the kids with whatever project they’re working on next, the washing is unwashed, the meat for dinner still frozen, the floors unhoovered, and the bin overflowing. Have I painted a vivid enough picture for you? So, when I came across this poem, it reminded me of why it’s sometimes a good thing to be domestically challenged, as I will never suffer in the same way as the “tired housewife”!

On A Tired Housewife – Anonymous

Here lies a poor woman who was always tired,
She lived in a house where help wasn’t hired:
Her last words on earth were: ‘Dear friends, I am going
To where there’s no cooking, or washing, or sewing,
For everything there is exact to my wishes,
For where they don’t eat there’s no washing of dishes.
I’ll be where loud anthems will always be ringing,
But having no voice I’ll be quit of the singing.
Don’t mourn for me now, don’t mourn for me never,
I am going to do nothing for ever and ever.

October 15, 2007. Inspiration.

7 Comments

  1. Autumn Song replied:

    Ah. Now I see the state of your laundry I am slightly less in awe of your academic productivity! 😉

    Seriously, though, these things are very hard to keep on top of. I DO see clutter and it drives me mad, but I still find it difficult to do everything I need to do – and I don’t have children to look after. I’ve changed my mind. Still in awe!

    Great poem, though.

  2. amypalko replied:

    Do you know, I just can’t seem to keep on top of the laundry, Autumn Song. My hubbie is home for a week and the laundry pile shrinks away to nothing, and then when he goes back to work, it threatens to engulf the house and everyone living in it. I swear it has a mind of its own 😉
    Thanks for your kind words, though. They really are very much appreciated!

  3. sharlotte replied:

    I would like to go where the tired housewife is going – its sounds like bliss!!

  4. amypalko replied:

    Aw, bless! But to be fair, Sharlotte, you do a significantly better job at managing the domestic with your studies and work and family, than I do!

  5. suz replied:

    Well, I already see we are kindred spirits. I recently told my husband that it’s quite possible I should have been a mistress, not a wife. That is why the name of my blog is “I’d rather be painting.” 🙂
    I just tell everyone that I am an imperfect perfectionist…and that excuses a lot of my flaws!
    Will return later to read more.
    Namaste’,
    ~suz

  6. amypalko replied:

    It certainly sounds as though we’re kindred spirits, Suz! I’d certainly rather be doing pretty much anything other than begin the housework 😉 Hope you make it back to Lives Less Ordinary soon!

  7. Culinary Memories « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […]   As I’ve already said here before, I am not a very good housewife. I am, shall we say, domestically challenged. However, I absolutely love cooking. I enjoy mixing together different flavours. I love coming up […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

