Live in Fragments No Longer

Despite being ridiculously terrified of spiders, I am completely captivated by webs. I love how they act as reminders of the importance of connection. Connections between the self and others. Connections between dreams and reality. Connections between seemingly disparate ideas.

I’ve been discovering a lot of webs recently, and whilst they entrance me with their silvery complex structure, they also demand an understanding of the importance of connectivity. Here are some photos of the most recent of my finds, followed by some quotes I think you’ll like.

Natural Web 2

Natural Web 1

Artificial Web 1

Artificial Web 2

We cannot live only for ourselves. A thousand fibers connect us with our fellow men; and among those fibers, as sympathetic threads, our actions run as causes, and they come back to us as effects.
– Herman Melville
 
Creativity is the power to connect the seemingly unconnected.
– William Plomer
 
Our life is composed greatly from dreams, from the unconscious, and they must be brought into connection with action. They must be woven together.
– Anais Nin
 
Only connect! That was the whole of her sermon. Only connect the prose and the passion, and both will be exalted, and human love will be seen at its height. Live in fragments no longer. 
– E.M. Forster 
 
What do you associate webs with?  What connections do you value?  Do you think we are more connected now than in the past, or are we more disconnected now than we have ever been? 
October 27, 2007. Environment.

7 Comments

  1. bobleckridge replied:

    GREAT post Amy. I love it. “Live in fragments no longer”. I love the spider web photos (and you can find other ones on my blog too. I also wrote a post recently about How to be a Superhero. Using a social network analysis model a researcher found that superheroes in the Marvel comics are the ones with the most connections to other characters. There’s the lesson – you want to be a hero? Get connected!

  2. amypalko replied:

    Glad you liked it, Dad. I read your post on the marvel superheroes. It was fascinating! If anyone reading this comment hasn’t checked it out already, I really recommend it!

  3. Nicholas replied:

    I don’t understand why paeople are scared of spiders, which by and large do us no harm at all. Think how miserable life would be for us if they all vanished — the enormous increase in the fly and mosquito populations, for example. Their webs are absolute marvels.

  4. amypalko replied:

    Do you know, Nicholas, the rational part of me completely agrees with you. However, when finding myself in the near vicinity of one, I am reduced to a quivering wreck. I do love their webs though!

  5. Damien replied:

    I really like the Plomer quote.

  6. Celticangel replied:

    Oh what a tangled web we weave…

    Anyway, I’m not a spider fan either, but webs are beautiful. Especially beaded with morning dew. I think that we have the potential to be incredibly connected these days. I have friends in two other countries that I talk with on a daily basis.

    Upon reflection, I think that the image of a web is a perfect way to illustrated interpersonal relationships. Some threads are thinner than others, and sometimes strands will connect in a way that you did not expect. …I hope that this doesn’t make me the spider. ew.

  7. amypalko replied:

    Yes, I like the Plomer quote too, Damien. It really captures what creativity means to me.

    That’s how I feel too, Celtic Angel. I have friends who I keep in touch with via the internet that I would rarely communicate with otherwise. Also, I have made friends through blogging that I wouldn’t have made otherwise. I think as long as we balance our online relationships with our offline, Web 2.0 can really offer us a significantly greater degree of connection. Thanks for taking the time to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

