Flamenco at the Museum

During my trip to Madrid, I was slightly disappointed that I didn’t get to see any Flamenco dancing. This could be reason number 46 to indulge in a return trip 😉 However, during a visit to Edinburgh’s museum to see the Picasso exhibition today, we managed to catch some Flamenco music and dance. What fantastic, complex rhythms. It always seems to me that traditional Spanish music and dance balances control with energy, restraint with freedom, and what I saw today only cements that for me. Really beautiful and so expressive. I took a series of photographs of the dancer as she was executing her complicated moves, and I think they really capture the movement and the grace she displayed. What do you think?

Flamenco 2

Flamenco 5

Flamenco 3

Flamenco 1

October 28, 2007. Environment.

3 Comments

  1. tobeme replied:

    Wonderful pictures. So much passion! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Amy Palko replied:

    I get really emotional when listening to live music, so what with that and the wonderful dancing, my eyes were welling up. I’m rather surprised that my photos worked out at all! Thanks for commenting, Tobeme.

  3. From the Museum Roof « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […] Less Ordinary To create, to experiment, to inspire « Flamenco at the Museum From the Museum Roof October 30th, 2007 I love going to the Chamber’s St Museum in […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

