From the Museum Roof

I love going to the Chamber’s St Museum in Edinburgh. We have a family membership, and we go at least twice a month, if not more. There is always more to see, more to discover. I don’t think you could ever say, “Right, that’s it! I’ve seen all there is to see in this place.” While we were there at the weekend for the Flamenco dancing and the Picasso exhibition, my husband suggested that we go up to the roof garden. Do you know, I don’t think I even knew there was a roof garden! So, we took the lift to the 5th floor and walked up the spiral staircase to the 7th, before coming out onto the decked roof of the museum. What a sight. I took so many photos! I love Edinburgh. Can you see why?

Museum Roof 1

Museum Roof 2

Museum Roof 3

Museum Roof 6

Museum Roof 7

Museum Roof 5

Museum Roof 4
(My husband took this last one through the telescope!)

If these photos don’t convince you that Edinburgh is a beautiful city and worth a visit, check out this clip:

Oh, and by the way, I’m not employed by the tourist board, in case you were wondering! I just love this city.

October 30, 2007. Environment, Photography.

8 Comments

  1. Nicholas replied:

    I already knew! It’s way past time for me to visit again.

  2. sharlotte replied:

    I didn’t know they had a roof garden. I must go back and have a look, your photos are lovely. Ross will love it up there!!

  3. amypalko replied:

    Next time you make it over, Nicholas, we’ll meet up for a blether over a cuppa.

    How many times, Sharlotte, have we met at the museum for lunch and a wander, and neither of us had a clue that the roof garden was there. You’re right, Ross would love it. Might be a bit windy for Ava though! You’ll need to choose a calm day to go up there.

  4. Damien replied:

    Beautiful!

  5. amypalko replied:

    Thank you, Damien. I think so too 🙂

  6. Autumn Song replied:

    You (and your husband) take great photos. I’m jealous. Oddly, I, who have spent less time in Edinburgh than you, did know there was a roof garden. You’ve captured the views brilliantly, but nothing compares with standing up there and seeing it for yourself…

  7. amypalko replied:

    Yeah, I don’t know why I didn’t know of the roof garden, Autumn Song! I’ll be going there again, though.

  8. Edinburgh - Celticangel.org - A spot of tea and complexity replied:

    […] of you that have known me for a while should be aware that I adore Edinburgh. So, when Amy over at Lives Less Ordinary posted this fabulous video, I just had to share it with you all. The music is by Philip Glass […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

