Thursday Thirteen- Origami Wishes

Origami Crane 5

I don’t know about you, but at around this time of year I feel as though I should be winding up projects instead of starting new ones, achieving goals rather than setting them, reflecting rather than acting. Now, there’s nothing wrong with this, but for someone like me who thrives on the zoo of the new, the end of year can feel a little stagnant. So, to remedy this I set out to learn something new today; I learned how to make an origami crane. Origami cranes have long fascinated me, and I have wanted to be able to make one for such a long time, but teaching myself how to do the series of folds was always relegated to “sometime soon”. Today I watched the following tutorial on YouTube and, after a few attempts, produced a passable, if not perfect, crane. I then taught my children how to make them and before we knew it we had made over 20 (and still counting as the children are currently making more as I write!). Anyway, here is the tutorial that I learned from, if you would like to join in.

Now, you may be wondering what has this to do with this week’s TT. Well, I got to thinking about the Japanese legend that by making 1000 cranes you can have a wish granted, normally for longevity or good health, and I combined that with my longing for starting something new at this time of year when things are generally concluded. So, for my TT, I have decided to give you 13 cranes, each accompanied with a wish related either to the introduction of something new, to the appreciation of the past or to the enjoyment of the present. I wish these wishes for myself, my loved ones that I am so blessed to have in my life, and for my readers, and I would like to see them granted before the bells of the new year toll. As I have already said, cranes are traditionally connected to wishes for a long and healthy life; please take this one as read. I wish you all good health for many years to come, but on top of that I also wish the following:

Origami Crane 17

1. May you hear a piece of music which evokes such a strong response as to bring you to the brink of tears.

Origami Crane 16

2. May you laugh out loud and long over something silly and frivolous.

Origami Crane 11

3. May you discover a new passion for an as yet unknown subject.

Origami Crane 10

4. May you taste a new food and find that it’s now a new favourite.

Origami Crane 3

5. May you be rendered speechless by natural beauty wherever you may find it.

Origami Crane 2

6. May you meet a new friend who inspires you to follow your dreams.

Origami Crane 1

7. May you feel deep contentment in your own company.

Origami Crane 8

8. May you find the motivation to reach the goals set earlier in the year.

Origami Crane 14

9. May you have sufficient energy to create new goals.

Origami Crane 12

10. May you receive a letter in the post that makes you smile with fond remembrance.

Origami Crane 7

11. May you share many hugs with your loved ones.

Origami Crane 9

12. May you find the courage to make the changes that need to be made.

Origami Crane 15

13. May you experience the strong sense of satisfaction that is only truly derived from a selfless act of kindness committed with no thought of reciprocation.

And, of course, I wish you all a very happy TT!

What are your wishes for yourself and others that you would like to see granted over the next 6 weeks?

November 14, 2007. Inspiration, meme.

42 Comments

  1. zazazu replied:

    The cranes are beautiful, an art that I too have wanted to learn. My bf has made many of them and I think they are just beautiful. It would be so neat to make a mobile out of them, don’t you think?

    I love your Wish No. 3. My wish is to continue to work toward optimal health and to feel better so as to be as productive as I might like to be.

    Great and thought-provoking post. Great blog too. I’m happy to have found it today. πŸ™‚

  2. amypalko replied:

    It’s funny that you mention a mobile, Zazazu, as I thought about using some of them for just that purpose. However, I think we’ve decided that we’ll string them all and use them as our Christmas decorations. It may turn out that we have so many that we’ll be able to make mobiles too! I hope that all your wishes for health and productivity come true. Oh, and I’m happy you found Lives Less Ordinary too!

  3. Chelle Y. replied:

    I bought my son an Origami set once and tired to make a zebra, which is his favorite animal. He kept saying, “Mommy, that does not look like the picture!” Haha…Shut up! πŸ™‚

  4. tobeme replied:

    Very good! Great that you learned something new which is both beautiful and relaxing.

  5. Tink replied:

    Really wonderful, they are great! I tried origami, but with the covers of teabags. πŸ™‚
    My TT lists 13 things about the black panther.

  6. SandyCarlson replied:

    I love to fold. Cranes are among the most fascinating and satisfying folds I know. Delightful post.

  7. Crimson Wife replied:

    What a neat idea for a TT!

  8. WorksForMom replied:

    WOW, these were amazing. I’ve always wanted to do that. But I can’t even make paper airplanes!

  9. nicholas replied:

    What a wonderful, original TT! And thank you for the kind wishes. If only some of them cone true, I’ll be a very happy bunny! I remember trying my hand at origami when I was a child but I was probably too young or too impatient, or both, to stick at it. More’s the pity. Are you up to 1000 yet?

  10. Janet replied:

    what a beautiful, caring post! I just said on the last blog that I commented on that I’m loving the positive vibes in this week’s T13. Thank you for all the beautiful wishes. I wish the same for you πŸ™‚

  11. Greatfullivin replied:

    Wonderful uplifting post! Here is wishing you all you should have and then just a little more to know you are appreciated. Happy TT!

  12. Susan Helene Gottfried replied:

    The cranes are lovely!!! And so are the sentiments expressed with each one. I found a new album the other day that moves me to tears, yes. I agree that it’s a wonderful wish for someone.

    Happy TT!

  13. No nonsense girl replied:

    you are talented! i tried it as a kid…wasn’t good at all…

    My TT is up!!!

  14. Lori replied:

    Thanks for the wishes….right back at’cha!! Happy TT.

  15. palofmine replied:

    COOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Have a great Thursday! Nice list by the way! Please stop by my blog if you can!

    DEB

  16. SJ Reidhead replied:

    I wish I could do this stuff. For me – it turns into “trash”. I’ve given up!

    The Pink Flamingo

  17. Megan replied:

    I love the cranes, and what a beautiful list of wishes! Thanks for brightening my day with your thoughtful list. =D

    Happy TT!

  18. Rae replied:

    I have always thought Origami was so cool to do and look at but I can’t do it to save my life great list Happy TT
    My TT is up

  19. Raggedy replied:

    Amazing!
    I love the cranes!
    The wishes are beautiful!
    You made my day!
    Terrific Thursday Thirteen!
    My TT is posted.
    Have a wonderful day!
    Happy TT’ing!
    *^_^
    (=’:’=)
    (“)_ (“)Ε 
    Raggedy

  20. nouveaufauves replied:

    You can donate them to a theatre producing “A Thousand Cranes”. You know the piece, I guess….about Hiroshima?

  21. Gala replied:

    That is totally lovely. You are fantastic! Thank you for the wishes, eee!

  22. amypalko replied:

    That’s so funny, Chelle! I seem to have created the situation whereby my kids now believe that I am an origami guru that can make any kind of animal they can find in their origami book. I’m afraid cranes are about the length and breadth of my talent!

    And it is sooo relaxing, Tobeme. There is something so therapeutic about the process. I really recommend giving it a shot. The clip is really clear and helpful!

    The covers of teabags!! They must be tiny, Tink! I’ve been trying to explain to my youngest that the size of the crane is dependent on the size of the paper, but he’s still coming up with the same piece of paper asking for a smaller one than last time.

    Ah, Sandy, I’m so glad to have found a fellow origami crane enthusiast. There is something deeply satisfying about the process, isn’t there!

    I’m glad you think so, Crimson Wife. It’s a bit different from my past TTs, but sometimes it’s fun to do something different πŸ™‚

    I can’t make paper airplanes either, WorksForMom, much to the disappointment of my kids. The boys have tried throwing the cranes, but have so far been less than impressed by their flight trajectory!

    You are most welcome, Nicholas, and I’ll keep my fingers crossed that they come true for you! And, no, we’ve not made it to a thousand yet. We may be at around 50 though… so only 950 to go πŸ˜‰

    What kind words, Janet. Thank you so much!

    Thank you so much for the wish, Greatfullivin πŸ™‚ It’s always nice to know that you’re appreciated, isn’t it.

    I’m glad you liked them, Susan. I felt it was important to include the one about moving music, as I am frequently moved by music. I listen to lots of different kinds of music, and I’ve found that it doesn’t matter what kind you listen to, they all have the potential to provoke an emotional response. I find it such a powerful experience when it happens.

    Give it another go, No Nonsense Girl. You may be surprised!

    Thanks, Lori!

    Glad you liked them, Deb. I always visit everyone who leaves a comment, so I’ll be heading over your way sometime today.

    Don’t give up, SJ! It really feels good once you’ve got the hang of it.

    I’m so pleased to have brightened your day, Megan. It is so nice to know that the wishes are appreciated.

    The way that I learned to do the cranes, Rae, was to watch the clip through once, without attempting to do the folds myself. The second time through, I watched a fold, and then paused the clip while I copied what I had just seen. The third time I let the clip run and made my second crane at the same time. My third crane was made without the aid of the clip, but I knew that if I got stuck I could always go back to the clip. Why not give it another go!

    Wow, Raggedy, it feels so good to know that this post made your day πŸ™‚

    I know of the play, but not the play itself. My daughter was finding out a little about it yesterday and I think we’ll be doing a little more discovery today.

    You are so welcome for the wishes, Gala. I’m so pleased you liked them πŸ™‚ Oh, and you’re pretty fantastic, yourself!

  23. Toni replied:

    Alright, this is my FAVORITE THURSDAY THIRTEEN entry so far. You’re so creative. Those cranes are simple and gorgeous. I’m glad I stumbled upon this blog through TT. You’re so inspirational!!! Thank you for those beautiful 13 wishes. I am wishing the same things for you. Thank you for making my day so much brighter. *hugs*

  24. amypalko replied:

    Wow, Toni, that is high praise indeed. I’m glad you found Lives Less Ordinary, and I hope you’ll come back soon!

  25. Tickled Pink replied:

    What a lovely project to do with your children! Thanks so much for the tutorial! It’s almost Thanksgiving here in America, and I smell a super holiday weekend project.

    On another note, thank you so much for sharing your life, photography and writing. Your blog is inspirational!

    Blessings, Nicole

  26. amypalko replied:

    Do you know, Nicole, my kids have so loved doing this project. The older 2 are at the point now where their’s look better than mine, and my youngest is managing admirably with a little help every now and then. It makes my so happy to know that you find my blog inspirational. I hope you’ll come back and visit again πŸ™‚

  27. thephantomsgirlfriend replied:

    Wow, I am going to agree with another commenter – you ARE talented. These are gorgeous.

    Smiles,

    Holly
    http://theabundanceplace.com

  28. Yen replied:

    Hi Amy! Love your T13:) I know how to make them actually:) Have a great day!

  29. amypalko replied:

    Perhaps not talented as such, just very determined! I was going to be able to make a crane if it took me all day trying. Fortunately, it didn’t take as long as that though! Thank you so much for your kind comment, Holly.

    Thank you, Yen. My special wish for you is that everything goes smoothly for the next few weeks πŸ™‚

  30. Natalie replied:

    That’s really great! I used to know how to make those, but I’ve long since forgotten.

  31. amypalko replied:

    I used to be able to make paper boats, but unfortunately I’ve forgotten that too! I wonder if the cranes would float better than they fly…

  32. pussreboots replied:

    Lovely cranes. I’ve been shown how to make a crane about a dozen times but I’ve found I don’t have the patience for origami. LOL. Happy TT.

  33. mitchypoo replied:

    Unusual but very nice TT! I’ve often wanted to make cranes out of magazine pages so then I don’t feel so bad throwing them away. Happy TT!

  34. Amy Palko replied:

    In some ways, Pussreboots, I think that origami is rather like knitting in that once you are very familiar with it, you no longer have to engage your brain your actions. It is almost as if your hands remember for you. I’m hoping that I won’t suddenly lose the knack of making cranes!

    Thanks Mitchypoo! I do strive to be at least a little unusual πŸ˜‰ As for making cranes our of magazine pages, I think the only issue you might come across is that they would have to be cut down to perfect squares, which, I imagine, would be rather time consuming. No reason not to give it a try though!

  35. damozel replied:

    What a beautiful, amazing post. I LOVE the cranes. They are gorgeous.

  36. amypalko replied:

    I’m so sorry it’s taken me this long to reply to your comment, Damozel! I do want to say thank you so much for your kind words about my post. It makes it all feel worth while πŸ™‚

  37. Thursday Thirteen - Dream-Chasing « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […] other TT posts: Origami Wishes and Birthday Nostalgia, Blogging Lessons, What I Found in Madrid, Rules To Live By, My Life in […]

  38. Peace On Earth And Goodwill To All « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […] under Creativity, Inspiration   Some of you may recall that I and my children have been busy making origami cranes, and that I said last Thursday that I would be revealing the project we were working on Christmas […]

  39. barbara replied:

    These are 13 lovely wishes – I am going to put them in my journal, just so I remember each of them. How lovely to have each one fulfilled.

  40. Shai Coggins replied:

    Love this! Amazing wishes. πŸ™‚

  41. Web Wednesday #11: Randomised Goodies | Shai Coggins replied:

    […] TT: 13 Origami Wishes – Yep, speaking of Thursday Thirteen, Amy also wrote this amazing post about origami. And, I just *love* the wishes she shared for each one. […]

  42. captain stardust replied:

    i’m glad i followed this link.
    i love the wishes, and many of these things DID happen to me in 2007: particularly discovering a passion for a new subject (textual culture!0 and creating new goals. i also found the loveliest new friend in the world last year, who has sent some lovely letters too. so apparently the little magic set off by the cranes can touch those farther away than you realised…

    i work in a library here in tennessee, and some of the staff are currently folding cranes for spring decorations in the lobby. i’ll have to share your inspiring thoughts with them.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

