Rain

Rain on Window Pane

Just to show you that Scotland’s reputation for rain isn’t completely unwarranted, I took this photo today of the window looking out to the hills beyond. What, you can’t see the hills? No, neither can I.

8 years ago, we were living on the north coast of Scotland in a house which was around 4 miles from the nearest village. Our son had just been born, and we had just moved to an isolated, windswept place, which had no tv and no central heating. It was not the easiest period of my life to date, but in many ways, I think it made our little family unit stronger. I began listening to the radio a lot to replace the tv, and one of the songs that was frequently played on Radio 1 was the Scottish band Travis’ Why Does It Always Rain On Me. It seemed incredibly apt at the time, and for me, it has become indelibly connected to that time and place. Anyway, as we were coming home from the shops this weekend, that song came on the radio, and my husband and I just looked at each other, and in that look was communicated such a wealth of shared experience, that I wouldn’t swap all those difficult times for the world.

Here’s the clip for the song, which is funny, as it looks as though it was shot near where I used to live. Note the lack of trees!

November 19, 2007. Environment.

4 Comments

  1. nicholas replied:

    In my whole life, all but ten years of it spent in Britain, I am ashamed to say I have only been ot Scotland once — 2 weeks when i was13. But I do remember that it rained almost every day. Every evening we had a roaring wood fire in the grate. In May.

  2. amypalko replied:

    Well, as I hope you saw in my photos from the other day, when the sun does decide to put in an appearance, Scotland can be absolutely glorious. Next time you’re in the UK, you need to schedule a trip north of the border. Your best chance of good weather is in May (surprisingly!) and September, as for the last 5 years or so this has been a fairly safe bet for some sunshine. I think the key to any visit to Scotland is, if you come expecting sunshine, you may be disappointed. If you come looking for a good time, friendly people and truly stunning atmospheric landscape, I can assure you that you won’t be.

  3. nouveaufauves replied:

    Rain. what is that? I have forgotten. Guess the photos from others around the world will have to remind me.

  4. amypalko replied:

    Yeah, Nouveaufauves, I sometimes wonder whether Scotland gets more than its fair share of rain. We certainly get plenty of it! It does make everything a lovely, luscious green.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

