From A Seed

Seedling

This year we’re experimenting with growing broad beans over winter. I don’t know if it’s going to be a success or an out and out failure, but the seedlings seem to be holding their own at the moment. I can’t tell you what pleasure I get from seeing their progress. At a time when everything else seems to be dying back, these small plants are just beginning their growth; their bright green leaves vibrant against the cold dark soil. There is such joy to be had in the seemingly smallest of things…

“The poetry of the earth is never dead.”
John Keats

“To own a bit of ground, to scratch it with a hoe, to plant seeds and watch their renewal of life – this is the commonest delight of the race, the most satisfactory thing a man can do.”
Charles Dudley Warner, author, editor, publisher (1829 – 1900)

“Once we become interested in the progress of the plants in our care, their development becomes a part of the rhythm of our own lives and we are refreshed by it.”
Thalassa Cruso

“Let us be grateful to people who make us happy; they are the charming gardeners who make our souls blossom.”
Marcel Proust

“Though I do not believe that a plant will spring up where no seed has been, I have great faith in a seed. Convince me that you have a seed there, and I am prepared to expect wonders.”
Henry David Thoreau

What are the small things in your life that are making you smile today?

(All quotes from Emily Compost)

November 20, 2007. Inspiration.

3 Comments

  1. nicholas replied:

    That’s a lovely picture of a healthy plant. I grow avocados myself. I should take a photo or two but I fear I won’t capture the essence of the plant the way you have.

  2. amypalko replied:

    I’m afraid the plants got a bit of a buffeting today with the strong gusts of wind we’ve had. Hopefully they’ll be ok…
    I’ve always wanted to grow an avocado plant! Do you just plant the stone in the compost, or do you have to do something to it first? I take it I would need to try it indoors, as it’s probably too cold for an avocado plant here! Oh and do take a photo – I’d love to see them 🙂

  3. Only The Good - Cats « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […] like them and currently I am very cross at the cat across the road, as it has ripped up some of my lovely bean plants and pooed in my veggie patch.  To be fair to these two in the photo, they had nothing to do with […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

