The Rainbow Won’t Wait

Fading Rainbow

“The work will wait while you show the child the rainbow, but the rainbow won’t wait while you do the work.”
Patricia Clafford

The other day, as I was pottering about in the kitchen, I spotted the most beautiful rainbow. I shouted to my little boy, and we both ran upstairs to look out his bedroom window. It was the most perfect rainbow! A full arch stretching high above the Ochil hills. As the rain began to move off, the sky cleared, the sun shone and the rainbow began to fade. It was all over in a matter of minutes, but I know that the experience of sharing the rainbow with my son will last a lot longer. Perhaps, even a lifetime…

November 27, 2007. Environment.

5 Comments

  1. Tickled Pink replied:

    My favorite movie EVER is The Wizard of Oz. Looks like you found your somewhere over the rainbow. Beautiful photograph!

  2. Wolfie replied:

    Wow..its beautiful..!!

  3. amypalko replied:

    Last Christmas, we took the kids to the cinema to see the remastered version of The Wizard of Oz, and it was amazing how powerful that film still is after all these years. That moment when the film switches from black and white to colour is simply breathtaking, and I was almost sobbing at the end when Dorothy returns back to Kansas. Wonderful film! I’m so pleased my photo brought it back for you, Tickled Pink!

    Thank you, Wolfie! I was really happy with how it turned out, and I was extremely pleased to find such an appropriate quote.

  4. Toni replied:

    Oh, that rainbow looks absolutely perfect. But the moment with your son was even more magical. 🙂

  5. amypalko replied:

    It was a truly stunning rainbow, but you are so right – the moment with my little boy was infinitely more magical!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

