Battling Grinch Tendencies

Having finally got most of my major work deadlines out of the way, I’ve started to turn my mind towards Christmas. So, I’ve been busy the last couple of days writing and addressing my cards, which, I must stress, is no small undertaking. Take a look…

Xmas Cards 1

Xmas Cards 2

Xmas Cards 3

Xmas Cards 4

Now, normally when I do my cards I get myself a nice mug of mulled wine, play some Bing and Nat and try and get into the Christmas spirit.  However, I did them while watching the telly yesterday afternoon, and I’m thinking now that this was perhaps a mistake, as I was left feeling distinctly un-Christmassy despite my stack of cards.  In fact, I would go so far as to say that I was feeling rather apathetic about the whole occasion.  However, after watching a clip from one of my favourite Christmas films, my mood is beginning to improve.  If you’re struggling to get into the swing of things too, see if this helps you as much as it helped me.

I think the following quote from How The Grinch Stole Christmas should be at the fore-front of all our thoughts while out Christmas shopping this year.

“And the Grinch, with his Grinch-feet ice cold in the snow,
stood puzzling and puzzling, how could it be so? It came without ribbons.
It came without tags. It came without packages, boxes or bags.
And he puzzled and puzzled ’till his puzzler was sore.
Then the Grinch thought of something he hadn’t before.
What if Christmas, he thought, doesn’t come from a store.
What if Christmas, perhaps, means a little bit more.”

So what are your top tips for getting into the Christmas spirit?

December 3, 2007. Inspiration.

8 Comments

  1. nicholas replied:

    Only you could make a stack of envelopes look like a piece of avant garde sculpture! And I love your swan photo too.

    No tips from me about getting into the Christmas spirit from me. we shall be sidestepping the whole thing this year.

  2. amypalko replied:

    What a beautiful compliment, Nicholas! Thank you!

  3. toni replied:

    I’m still not into the Christmas spirit so I don’t have tips yet! But one thing that’s always worked for me was Christmas shopping. Once I start looking for the perfect gifts for loved ones, I feel the spirit slowly taking over. And then everything looks cheery. 🙂

  4. Tickled Pink replied:

    Christmas? Gack! I can’t believe it’s December. Congratulations on the cards. I hope to start mine this weekend. Thanks for the inspiration!

  5. amypalko replied:

    I’m afraid, Toni, that the christmas shopping part always feels a little like an endurance test! I do like wrapping them all up though, accompanied, of course, with the obligatory mulled wine.

    I know, Tickled Pink! December always comes round so fast. By getting my cards done, I think I was trying to quell the rising panic of being completely unprepared for it this year. I did managed to pick up a few gifts when I was in town yesterday, though, so with a bit of luck I’ll manage to pull it off.

  6. CandyQ replied:

    For me, it’s Christmas songs that get me into the spirit of the holidays. I still haven’t finished my Christmas shopping though, tsk, tsk! :o)

    Love your swan photo. Actually, I love all photos you post. Wish I could take such lovely pictures, too.

  7. amypalko replied:

    Christmas songs are a great way to get into the swing of Christmas, CandyQ, but only, I think, if they’re from the first half of the 20th Century. Bing Crosby’s White Christmas, Nat King Cole’s Christmas Song and Peggy Lee’s Winter Wonderland are a few of my faves. Glad you like my photos so much! I’ll be posting a few more up shortly.

  8. The Art of Letter Writing « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […] fact, I could probably count on one hand the number of letters I hand wrote in 2007, not including christmas cards, of course!  However, I really want to be a person known for writing thoughtful letters.  I want […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

