Blackbirds on 4th Avenue

Bird Silhouette

It’s so easy in the blogosphere to move in ever-decreasing circles, isn’t it? I’ve decided that I need to make a conscious effort to find new blogs to visit, and one of the sites that’s helping me do this is BlogsWeLuv. One of the features on BlogsWeLuv is 10 questions for bloggers about their blogs and it includes the question “Name one great blog that you visit on a regular basis. What makes it unique?” On a recent post, Amanda of The Good, The Bad & The Mischief answered that one of her favourite blogs was one called The 4th Avenue Blues. Intrigued, I checked it out, and I can honestly say that just after a week of finding it, it is a new favourite. Andrew’s writing is engagingly honest and his photos are just gorgeous. One of his recent photos was of blackbirds in a tree, and while I was out at the shops yesterday I happened to see a tree full of birds. The light was failing by that point (well, it was after 2pm!) so I couldn’t tell if they were blackbirds or not, but they did make me think of Andrew and his blog, so I took a quick snap of them. If you compare the two photos, it’s clear to see that in December the sky in Alabama is still achingly blue, whilst in Scotland the clouds seem so low they almost kiss the ground, underscoring the fact that geographically we are very far apart. However, as is always the case with well-written personal blogs, Andrew’s writing bridges the distance and gives the impression that the distance which divides is not so vast after all.

Anyway, I recommend that you check 4th Avenue Blues out. Oh, and if you have a favourite personal blog, please let me know about it in a comment! I am always so pleased to find a new blog to add to my feedreader. Incidentally, I’m going to be updating my blogroll later this week as it has sorely needed updating for the longest time now. If you are not on it, and you would like to be, leave a comment and I’ll add you on over this weekend.

December 6, 2007. Inspiration.

7 Comments

  1. pussreboots replied:

    I love your photograph. I will check out the blog you recommended. One of my favorite blogs is Scribbit.

  2. amypalko replied:

    Thanks for the tip, Pussreboots!

  3. Damien replied:

    Teaching is a gift you give. Good luck with the blogroll … I might suggest you tell people you will check them out on your reader for a while. I used to add people willy nilly and I found it made people mad when I removed them for various reasons. Just my 2 cents!

  4. amypalko replied:

    Thank you, Damien. Very good advice!

  5. Linda R. Moore replied:

    I would be honored to be on your blogroll. I have three blogs:

    http://www.ravensroads.com
    http://www.ravensrides.com
    http://www.ravensrv.com

  6. Penelope Anne replied:

    Finding new blogs is a challenge I have given myself also…if you haven’t been to http://theredneckmommy.com/
    she is one of my favorites.

  7. amypalko replied:

    Thanks, Linda. I’ll be updating soon!

    It’s a good challenge to have, I think, Penelope Anne. I love the Redneck Mommy blog! It is one of my favourites too – makes me laugh and cry in equal measures.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

