Twice Tagged

You know what it’s like; you sit around waiting for a meme, and then two come along at once πŸ˜‰

First off, Penelope Anne has very kindly nominated Lives Less Ordinary as one of her 5 Most Treasured Blogs.

treasurre.png

Thank you, Penelope Anne! It’s so good to know that this blog is read and enjoyed. It makes the effort seem all the more worth while. Of course, as is de rigueur with these awards, I get to choose my own 5 blogs upon which to bestow the title of Treasured Blog. So I’m choosing:

Secondly, Damien has tagged me for the Crazy 8s meme, in which you need to answer the following:

  • 8 Things I’m passionate about
  • 8 Things I want to do before I die
  • 8 Things I often say
  • 8 Books I’ve recently or currently reading
  • 8 Songs I could listen to over and over
  • 8 Things that attract me to my best friends
  • 8 People I think should do Crazy 8s

OK (deep breath). Here we go!

8 Things I’m Passionate About

  • My kids
  • My marriage
  • Scotland
  • My extended family
  • My research
  • People
  • Photography
  • Literature

To read more about my passions, you can read my Thursday Thirteen all about them.

8 Things I want to do before I die

  • Watch my children grow up into happy, independent, fulfilled adults
  • Celebrate my golden wedding anniversary
  • Complete my Phd
  • Travel to all the continents
  • Live in a city centre
  • See a live volcano
  • Learn the Pride of Erin Waltz
  • Visit Kyoto

8 Things I Often Say

  • Has anyone seen mummy’s glasses/keys/purse/handbag/remote control/camera/umbrella/address book? (Isn’t that 8 already?)
  • Can we stop for a minute while I take a photo?
  • Yes, but on the bright side…
  • I’ll have a gin and tonic – Bombay Sapphire, full-fat bottled tonic, tall glass, lots of ice, lime and a straw.
  • Not that I’m fussy, but…
  • Has anyone fed the fish today?
  • Another cup of tea?
  • Email me

8 Books I’ve Recently Read Or That I’m Currently Reading

  • Lisey’s Story – Stephen King
  • Thrillers – Jerry Palmer
  • The Dark Half – Stephen King
  • Misery – Stephen King
  • The Language of Popular Fiction – Walter Nash
  • Waiting For The Barbarians – J.M. Coetzee
  • The Artist’s Way – Julia Cameron
  • Write It Down Make It Happen – Henriette Anne Klauser

8 Songs I Could Listen To Over And Over

  • Standing In The Way Of Control – The Gossip
  • Hold You In My Arms – Ray Lamontagne
  • Fluorescent Adolescent – Artic Monkeys
  • Valerie – The Zutons
  • Stop Me – Mark Ronson Feat. Daniel Merriweather
  • Turn Into – Yeah Yeah Yeahs
  • Munich – The Editors
  • Far Away – Martha Wainwright

8 Things That Attract Me To My Best Friends

  • Compassion
  • Humour
  • Great Conversation
  • A Love For Life
  • Good With my Kids
  • Non-Judgmental
  • Eccentricity
  • Intelligence

8 People That I Think Should Do Crazy 8s

Also, if I haven’t tagged you, but you would like to have a go at it, let me know in a comment, and I’ll update this post with a link to your Crazy 8.

Phew!

December 19, 2007. meme.

15 Comments

  1. Penelope Anne replied:

    Off to play tag, such a fun game isn’t it? Glad you liked your reward, definityl deserved….let me know if you manage to read/finish Lisey’s Story….the first King book I could not get into at all.

  2. amypalko replied:

    I’m so glad you’re going to join in, Penelope! As for Lisey’s Story, it’s definitely worth persisting with. It’s quite different from his previous works, however. I actually contribute posts to a blog for Gothic research in my uni dept, and I wrote a brief post about it there. It’s got some very interesting comments if you want to follow it up. You can find it here.

  3. nengaku replied:

    Thanks for tagging me, I think…..
    This is going to be an interesting exercise.
    Peace

  4. On a Limb w/ Claudia replied:

    Mine is up! I do love the book “Write it down make it happen”. We actually do the arrow ceremony from that book every new years eve. It’s helpful!

  5. amypalko replied:

    I so enjoyed your response, Nengaku. Thank you so much for joining in πŸ™‚

    Oh fantastic, Claudia! I’ll head over to yours now. Also, I’m so glad you’re a fan of that book too. I found it most inspirational and have tried out quite a few of her suggestions. Haven’t tried the arrow ceremony though. Maybe I’ll try it this New Years!

  6. tobeme replied:

    A painful, yet memorable lesson. Yes, we have much ice here. No slips!

  7. amypalko replied:

    I think you’ve added this comment to the wrong post, Tobeme; the comments button is next to the post title. I’m still very glad you took the time to comment though! Thank you πŸ™‚
    I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you remain upright!

  8. damien replied:

    Thanks for playin! Those are some great answers. Thank you also for the award, I am honored. Ok, gonna go splash cold water on my face now!

  9. Paul Martin replied:

    Wish I were. Housbound and mostly bedridden, three years now.

    Beautiful pics. Wonder why falls are so embarassing? They sure are! My worst was similar to yours, early in high school running to catch up to an upper classman and suddenly finding myself flat on my back at his feet… Uh, hi there…

  10. This Eclectic Life replied:

    Amy, thank you for listing me as a treasured blog! What a treat. Yours is certainly a treasure. I enjoy when I get a chance to read you in feed. It’s even better when I get to come to your “house” and visit!

  11. nouveaufauves replied:

    Gulp. What a nice honor. How did you do this blog choosing?
    I viewed the pics of the Isle of Skye today. Really stunning. Thanks. The experience was affirming for me. It let me know something I should have known all my life about where I come from.

  12. amypalko replied:

    You’re most welcome, Damien, for playing and the award πŸ™‚

    Oh dear, Paul, I was sorry to read that you’re housebound. I hope you come back and visit Lives Less Ordinary again soon, for a little distraction. We already have adolescent humiliation in common πŸ™‚

    Thank you for your lovely words, Shelly! There are really so appreciated. I’m with you on the feeds – they’re good for letting you know that a blog’s been updated, but I always prefer actually visiting the blog itself. You’re welcome over here any time, Shelly!

    Well, Nouveau Fauves, I chose 5 of the blogs that I look forward to reading new posts. I’m a big fan of your art, and I think you produce just beautiful pieces. What’s not to treasure! I’m glad you liked Dad’s photos, and I’m so pleased that they meant so much to you. When you finally do make it over, let me know and we’ll have a blogger meet-up!

  13. Graham replied:

    Hi Amy, I’m trying to catch up on some of my outstanding memes…. I have just been reading your Crazy 8’s meme answers. You have a great selection. I loved Stephen King’s “Lisey’s Story” – grusome but gripping and emotionally exhausting, as his stuff always is. You’re passionate about some great things, including photography – that certainly shows in your great work. And you would like to see a live volcanoe… now, that is one I have never considered before, but it sounds amazing and I can think of some great photo opportunities in such a location. You have chosen Ray Lamontagne in your music selection – now that is one guy with a great voice. I have both of his recent albums and am totally gripped. Great to listen to over a glass of wine in the evening…. I still like the title track from “Trouble”.

    You can find my Crazy 8’s list at:
    http://grahamettridge.blogspot.com/2007/10/even-more-things-about-me.html

    Kindest regards ~ Graham

  14. Celticangel replied:

    I finally finished my Crazy 8 meme. You can find it here:
    http://www.celticangel.org/index.php/im-it-2/

  15. amypalko replied:

    Thanks for choosing to take part, Graham and Celtic Angel. I’ll be popping over to both your blogs to leave comments πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

