When All The World’s An Ice Rink

Ice is such a fascinating thing, isn’t it? It can be quite hazardous too, though! On the day the first two photos were taken, the kids and I had all slipped and landed on, what my Grandad calls, our bahookies. These seagulls seem a lot more sure-footed!

Walking on Water

No Fishing

Leaves Above and Below

Ice Patterns

My worst fall on ice happened as I was on my way to school one morning. I took the public transport bus to school every morning, and, as I’ve never exactly been a morning person, I always ended up in a rush to try and catch it. This morning in particular, I spotted the bus further up the road and so I started to run, fearing that I would miss it. The bus passed by me, and so I sped up. There were others at the bus stop, and so by the time the last person had stepped through the doors, I had finally caught up. However, just as I got there, I hit a patch of ice, and my feet slid out from under me and I landed flat on my back, completely winded. The bus driver took one look at me, closed the doors and drove off! I can still remember seeing all these faces peering at me through the windows of the bus, as my face coloured both with embarrassment and with trying to get a breath. Needless to say, I’ve given up running for buses now. I figure, there’ll be one along in 10 mins anyway, and it’s just not worth either the pain or the humiliation that would come from a repeat performance.

Are you having to negotiate icy roads and pavements (sidewalks) today?

December 19, 2007. Environment, Photography.

10 Comments

  1. On a Limb w/ Claudia replied:

    Not well. I’ve already fallen this year – bad. I even hit my head. I was out of commission for almost 2 days after that. It’s hard because the ice is under the snow – no way to see it. Sigh.

    I hope you are all right.

  2. pussreboots replied:

    No ice here. Maybe some frost but it’s all melted by now.

  3. amypalko replied:

    Oh, Claudia! Poor you! That does sound like a bad fall. I’m absolutely fine after my slip. Nothing hurt but my pride!

    I much prefer the frost to the ice, Pussreboots. Did you see the frost photos I took the other day?

  4. Mike replied:

    Thankfully, there is not much ice right now where I live, just lots of snow. I love the photos on your site… the frost photos are especially beautiful!

    Thanks for stopping by today!

  5. Redneck Mommy replied:

    Beautiful pictures.

    I haven’t slipped yet….but last year I hit the ice so hard and so violently that I tore my quad muscle, cracked my tailbone and grew a goosebump so large I feared I was growing a second head. All in one fall. All the while my children laughed at my clumsiness before they realized I was dying a slow pain death.

    I’m still annoyed with the little buggers. They’re laughter rings in my ears and taunts me while I’m sleeping.

    Perhaps I should lay off the sausage and cheese before I go to bed…

  6. amypalko replied:

    Thank you so much, Mike, for your kind words about my photos! I do hope you’ll pop by and visit me again. I post quite a lot of photos up. I seem to have some kind of compulsion to take photos at the moment, and it is showing on my blog 🙂

    Somehow, Redneck Mommy, I’m not surprised that you had suffered a similar ice-induced humiliation! It does sound as though you really hurt yourself though, while all I damaged was my dignity. Kids can be such compassionate creatures, can’t they?

  7. Lori replied:

    What a great list. Ive been doing alot of #11 since my oldest son has been here to visit. Not to mention, taking a little time off:) Happy TT and thanks for stopping by:)

  8. Marilyn replied:

    I used to do the morning pages and I do remember them being very freeing… I guess I stopped about the time I started blogging. Now that you reminded me, maybe I’ll try that again.

  9. amypalko replied:

    It’s so good to have a laugh with our loved ones, isn’t it, Lori!

    I find that the blogging and the morning pages are actually complementary. Quite often I come up with post ideas through my pages. If you decide to give it a go, I’d love to hear about it!

  10. While Waiting For A Bus « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […] December 22, 2007 While Waiting For A Bus Posted by amypalko under Environment, Photography   The time spent waiting for public transport can so easily feel like a waste of time. However, on Thursday as we were waiting for the bus to take us into town, I decided to go and photograph some of the frosted plant-life, rust and barbed wire that I could see from the bus-stop. I’ll tell you, the time passed so quickly! I was so engrossed in what I was doing, I nearly missed the bus. Not for the first time, either! […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

