Xmas Treat

Today we took the kids out for a special Christmas treat to the Science Centre in Glasgow. Not very Christmassy you might assume, but, in fact, they have the only IMAX theatre in Scotland there and they were showing The Polar Express in 3D. What a great time we had: we played with bubbles, built complicated structures, designed bridges, and discovered all sort of interesting things in their special exhibit called 1001 Inventions, which profiles the scientific advances made by the Muslim world from 0 – 1000 AD. As you might expect I took a few photos!

Silver Texture

Electric Touch

Whirlpool

Bubble Wall

Changing Dice

Science Structure

Orange Dome

Bubble

The IMAX theatre is really such a spectacular building. Here’s a couple of shots of it, and then I’ve also included a clip from The Polar Express, so you can get a flavour of the full experience!

IMAX Curve

IMAX

I know it’s terribly sentimental, but this film has tears rolling down my cheeks every time I see it. Today was no exception!

December 23, 2007. Inspiration, Photography.

7 Comments

  1. damien replied:

    Beautiful pictures. I wish I could have seen that place! I am very into museums and stuff like that.

  2. amypalko replied:

    We’re lucky enough to be members of quite a few museums in the central belt area of Scotland, which means we can go as often as the mood takes us, which, as you might imagine, is fairly often! We’ve been to the Science Centre 4 times since we bought our membership in September, so we’ve already made our money back on it. It’s such a great place to spend the day, Damien. If you ever make it over to Scotland you really should check it out.

  3. Miss Sniz replied:

    What a cool tree! Great job!

  4. amypalko replied:

    Thanks, Miss Sniz! It was a lot of effort, but I think it was worth it 🙂 Wishing you and yours a very merry Christmas tomorrow!

  5. Milan replied:

    Awesome! This looks like a place for camping!
    (yeah I have history in museums: when I visited Madrid I stayed there 7 days and spent a full three days in museums and in Prado 9 hours. I almost missed the city!)

    Oh I have Polar Express DVD for ages; it’s somewhere here and it’s still “to-be-watched”

  6. nengaku replied:

    Polar Express in 3-D! Wow – that must have been amazing. Didn’t realize they released it in 3-D.
    Science centers are so fun. One year we had our daughter’s birthday party at the Syracuse science center. What a treat. Then all the girls somehow discovered the exhibit that was designed to help men discover testicular cancer – it was a hands-on exhibit. That was an interesting moment.
    Peace

  7. amypalko replied:

    I’ve always wanted to camp in a museum – that would be so much fun! I was in the Prado in October. Beautiful gallery! Unfortunately, due to time constraints, I couldn’t spend 9 hours there, but the time that I did spend was very much enjoyed. Oh, you must watch Polar Express! My husband thought that it was overtly sentimental, and, I suppose, it is. But for some reason it just wrenches my heart every time I watch it.

    It was fab in 3D, Nengaku! At moments it felt like a roller coaster. Hmmm, that would have been an interesting moment at your daughter’s b’day party!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

