Peace On Earth And Goodwill To All

Some of you may recall that I and my children have been busy making origami cranes, and that I said last Thursday that I would be revealing the project we were working on Christmas Eve. Well, today is Christmas Eve, so here it is:

Christmas Tree 2007

Crane Decorations

Golden Crane

Although we didn’t quite get to a thousand, the tree is literally festooned with cranes which dance in the slightest draft.

I wish you all a truly wonderful Christmas, filled with fun and joy, laughter and smiles, generosity and grace.

December 24, 2007. Creativity, Inspiration.

14 Comments

  1. Penelope Anne replied:

    That is beautiful and a wonderful memory for you as a family….of course I was thinking immediately if you had gotten 1000 made or not.
    Have a very Merry Christmas.

  2. amypalko replied:

    Nope, didn’t make the 1000 mark, Penelope. Not yet, anyway! Merry Christmas to you and yours πŸ™‚

  3. Danielle replied:

    What a lovely tree. You must be an expert crane maker now! Have a lovely holiday!!

  4. amypalko replied:

    I’m not quite an expert crane folder yet, Danielle, but I’m most certainly improving. Merry Christmas!

  5. damien replied:

    Origami is neat. That’s quite an accomplishment! I’ll bet it means a lot to the kids too that they made their decorations.

  6. Milan replied:

    Beautiful! Indeed I was thinking about 1000 as well πŸ™‚
    Merry Christmas and all the best in New 2008!

    PS
    Sorry for not writing meme/comments/etc… I sank in non-virtual phase.

    PS#2
    It’s not snowing here?

  7. Autumn Song replied:

    Beautiful, Amy. Merry Christmas to you and your family. x

  8. hensteeth replied:

    It’s perfect.

    Happy Christmas, Amy.

  9. nengaku replied:

    That’s not quite one thousand but it is the EXACT RIGHT NUMBER for your tree!
    Merry Christmas to you and your family!
    Peace

  10. tobeme replied:

    Amy,
    This was such a great idea! I love your tree. Hope you had a great Christmas!

  11. nouveaufauves replied:

    Excellent idea! How beautiful!

  12. amypalko replied:

    I think they did feel a certain amount of pride, Damien. I think it’s so important to make sure kids are involved in all the xmas prep. It can be so easy to get caught up in everything, that the kids end up side-lined. This was one of the things we did this xmas to make sure the kids played a part in making sure our home was ready for the holiday season.

    Merry Christmas, Milan! I think we all need those non-virtual phases sometimes πŸ™‚ As fo the snow, it never snows here for xmas. I think it might have something to do with the gulf stream.

    Thank you, Autumn Song. I hope you and your family had a lovely Xmas. Keep in touch!

    It is rather, isn’t it, Hensteeth! I love watching them dance when someone opens the back door πŸ™‚

    Do you know, Nengaku, we were struggling to find branches to hang them on. I think we would have needed a much bigger tree if we had made it to 1000!

    Glad you liked it, Tobeme. It was our small display of hope for peace in the coming year.

    Thank you, Nouveau Fauves! It’s a bit different from the traditional baubles and tinsel anyway. I never was one for conformity πŸ˜‰

  13. moondancer replied:

    Beautiful, thanks so much for sharing.

    Happy TT

    http://moondancerdrake.livejournal.com

  14. amypalko replied:

    You are most welcome, Moondancer. Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

