Thursday Thirteen – Christmas Wanderings

As I’ve been a bit preoccupied with the recent festivities, I’m afraid I haven’t had a chance to come up with a well-thought out TT. Consequently, I’ve decided to share 13 photos that I took on a Christmas Eve walk that my family and I took around the university loch and Alva Glen. If you like them, you can check out my Flickr set Winter Walks where I have gathered a collection of photos that I’ve taken on recent wanderings around the local area.

Reflection on Water and Ice

Low Sun

Sunlit Ivy

Sinking Sun

Special Winter Light

Field in Sunshine

Sunset From Alva Glen

Trees Against A Blue Sky

Dramatic Wallace Monument

Sunlit Honesty

Reflection

Contrail and Blue

Branch Silhouette

I hope you all had a lovely Christmas!

My other TT posts: The Chill Out Zone and Fairy Tale Lessons, Favourite International Movies, My Passions, Dream Chasing, Origami Wishes, Birthday Nostalgia, Blogging Lessons, What I Found in Madrid, Rules To Live By, My Life in Scent, My Family, New Habits and Memorable Moments

December 26, 2007. Environment, meme, Photography.

22 Comments

  1. Milan replied:

    Photos are amazing (as usual)! Which camera you use?
    Oh you don’t have a snow… you should put some on your blog πŸ™‚
    I think I’ll post my TT tomorrow since I came back home very late and I’m lazy to type right now (not sure what I’ll write about)

    PS
    I hadn’t a lovely Christmas but I will have Jan 7th πŸ™‚

  2. Deb replied:

    Great list, I enjoyed it very much! Come take a look at the most popular resolutions of the New year!

    DEB

  3. Franco replied:

    you have some pretty good photos!! nice place!! where was this?

    ~streetfotografy.wordpress.com~

  4. Graham replied:

    Hiya Amy!

    Yet again, your walk appears to have been simply amazing. Such a beautiful place and stunning photographs.

    I hope your Christmas is going well and I wish you a very Happy New Year. I look forward to seeing many more of your wonderful photos during 2008.

    Loadsaluv, Graham x

  5. Susan Helene Gottfri replied:

    Wow. If that’s what you come up with when you’re not up to thinking, stop thinking!! Those are gorgeous — I really like the one that’s the trees’ reflection in the water. I spent a good minute staring at it.

  6. Yen replied:

    Hi Amy! Missed your T13..I just gave birth 3 weeks ago:) Hope you had a fab Christmas! Love the photos! Hey, love your Christmas tree too with those origami:)
    Here’s mine for this week!
    Thursday 13
    Enjoy the rest of the Holidays!

  7. melanie replied:

    Beautiful…just beautiful. Happy New Year!

  8. Natalie replied:

    Those are some really beautiful pictures!

    My Thursday Thirteen is up too! πŸ™‚

  9. Toni replied:

    You take my breath away with these gorgeous photographs! I am especially fond of the 4th and 6th one. Simply beautiful. Happy TT!

  10. Wolfie replied:

    Wow..beautiful..!

  11. Rae replied:

    You take some of the most beautiful picture that are very nice-http://inraesworld.blogspot.com/

  12. marnini replied:

    Gorgeous pictures.
    Maribeth
    http://www.marnini.wordpress.com

  13. Penelope Anne replied:

    Very beautiful pictures, you have a nice eye for photography dearest. Looks nothing like our area which received more snow last night and even more to come tomorrow. Walking is a tad dangerous for me this season, until my health issues are dealt with, so I enjoy the winter scenes as I go by in the car or from the house.
    Your T13 is more interesting than mine….I blame the haze of illness I have been caught under for the past 4 days though.

  14. On a Limb w/ Claudia replied:

    wow! Such beautiful photos! What is the tower? I don’t think I’ve seen that before. It’s dumping, absolutely dumping snow here. Thanks for the refreshing look at winter!

    Happy TT!

  15. amypalko replied:

    My camera is a Fujifilm Finepix Z100fd, Milan, which is basically a point and click camera. Will possibly get a digital slr one day in the very far future! Like the snow?

    Thanks Deb. I’ll try and pop round soon πŸ™‚

    Hi Franco and welcome to my blog πŸ™‚ The photos are from Stirling University campus and Alva Glen which are both in central Scotland. It’s very beautiful, but then I’m biased! By the way, I’ve just subscribed to your blog. I like what you’ve posted so far, and I’m looking forward to future photos.

    It was a lovely walk, Graham, but it was too short! The sun is setting here around 3.30 which is frustrating when you want the light to take photos. As you can see, I ended up taking quite a few of the sunset! I hope you too are having a lovely time over Xmas and New Year, and I also look forward to more of your photos. Your shots of London posted today are just glorious!!

    Thanks, Susan! I rather liked the reflected branches one too πŸ™‚

    Congratulations, Yen! What wonderful news. I must say, though, that I’m so impressed that you are managing TT again so soon. You must be extremely organised!

    Glad you liked them, Melanie! Happy New Year to you too πŸ™‚

    Thanks, Natalie. I’ll certainly try and visit your TT as soon as I can.

    I’m so pleased that you enjoyed them so much, Toni. I do so love taking photos, but the fact that others derive enjoyment from them too is just such a good feeling.

    Thank you, Wolfie πŸ™‚

    Thank you for such a sweet comment Rae!

    Glad you liked them, Maribeth πŸ™‚

    I’m glad you think so, Penelope. Photography is still a relatively recent discovery of mine but one I’m thoroughly enjoying.

    That’s the Wallace Monument, Claudia. You can find out a little more about it here. It’s such a dramatic structure, and I feel so privileged to live so close to it!

  16. Michelle O. replied:

    What beautiful and serene pictures!

  17. Linda R. Moore replied:

    These are such beautiful photographs. And you found honesty! Wow. πŸ™‚

  18. Linda R. Moore replied:

    I have three TTs this week:

    Review of 2007:
    http://www.ravensroads.com/index.php/2007-in-review/

    Motorcycling review of 2007:
    http://www.ravensrides.com/tt13-2007-in-review

    13 RV adventures in 2007:
    http://www.ravensrv.com/2007-adventures/

  19. Which Path To Choose? « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […] Posted by amypalko under Environment, Inspiration, Photography   We returned to Alva Glen today, this time giving ourselves plenty time for a full explore. We took pastries for a picnic, […]

  20. amypalko replied:

    Thank you, Michelle! I find a lot of serenity when I walk, so I’m glad that you found some in my photos πŸ™‚

    There’s actually a lot of honesty around here at the moment, Linda. I think the truly unusual thing about that photo is that I managed to capture honesty in some Scottish winter sunlight!

  21. Thursday Thirteen - Ideas For The New Year « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […] other TT posts: Christmas Wanderings, The Chill Out Zone, Fairy Tale Lessons, Favourite International Movies, My Passions, Dream […]

  22. Thursday Thirteen - Final Curtain « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […] Β Christmas Wanderings […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

