Which Path To Choose?

We returned to Alva Glen today, this time giving ourselves plenty time for a full explore. We took pastries for a picnic, and, with camera in tow, spent most of the day trekking all the way to the end of the path. I took over 200 photos during our walk! Needless to say I won’t be subjecting you to all 200, but as I was looking through them, I noticed a really interesting theme which I thought I would share, as it seems particularly prevalent at the closing of the year. Perhaps it’s partly because my mind has been turning to which path to follow in 2008, because when I examined my photos I noticed that I had photographed different kinds of paths.

A Straight Path
A Straight Path

A Tricky Path
A Tricky Path

A Meandering Path
A Meandering Path

An Upward Path
An Upward Path

A Lightening Path
A Lightening Path

A Wayward Path
A Wayward Path

A Fractured Path
A Fractured Path

A Partnered Path
A Partnered Path

A Finite Path
A Finite Path

A Perilous Path
A Perilous Path

Whichever path you find yourself on in 2008, I hope you negotiate it as happily as this little soul did today!

A Happy Traveller

December 30, 2007. Environment, Inspiration, Photography.

26 Comments

  1. innovatel replied:

    The places in your picture are fantastic! I love the nature 🙂

    I think … it’s a good place to do mountain bike … the “path” is fantastic … it’s a good single track 🙂

    Bye 🙂

  2. amypalko replied:

    There are parts of that path that are almost impassable on foot, Innovatel, so I don’t know how you’d get on with a mountain bike. There are points in which the path has a cliff on one side and a sheer drop on the other, going perhaps 50 feet down to the water below. At moments, quite dizzying, but always completely stunning!

  3. Penelope Anne replied:

    What a beautiful location and a superb post to wish us well for 2008….may your path be a bright one filled with adventure of the good kind.

  4. This Eclectic Life replied:

    Awesome, my friend. Lovely pictures, and wonderful wishes. I am so glad that my path crossed yours! Happy Trails, and I wish you a delightful new year!

  5. damien replied:

    Those are breathtaking. Excellent job of photography. Gives you something to ponder for sure. What about the path where the horse took a dump?? LOL Avoiding that one is an art isn’t it?

  6. Amy Palko’s Several Breathtaking “Paths” < Postcards from the Funny Farm replied:

    […] -Which Path To Choose? « Lives Less Ordinary […]

  7. nicholas replied:

    All those stunning photos remind me that it is just wrong that I haven’t set foot in Scotland since I was thirteen!

  8. Wolfie replied:

    Wow..these are beautiful pictures..!!

    Wishing u & ur family a great 2008..!!

  9. amypalko replied:

    It is a very beautiful and special place, Penelope! Thank you so much for your new year wishes. May your path also be one filled with fun, laughter and adventure 🙂

    Hey, I’m glad our paths crossed too, Shelly! Happy New Year to you and yours.

    Thanks for commenting, Damien, and thanks too for your post on my photos. That was really very kind of you! Didn’t see any evidence of horses on the path – apparently lots of deer use that route though 😉

    Next time you’re over in the UK, Nicholas, you must make the journey north of the border. If the rain and the cold put you off before, though, you may want to try waiting till the summer months. It’ll probably still rain, but it won’t be as cold 😉

    Glad you like them, Wolfie. Have a great Hogmanay and a 2008 full of smiles and laughter!

  10. angharad replied:

    what a wonderful theme! hope your new year follows the right path for you

  11. amypalko replied:

    Thank you, Angharad. I hope yours does too!

  12. Mike replied:

    Great photos! I especially liked the colors in “A Meandering Path.”

    Best wishes for a wonderful new year!

  13. amypalko replied:

    Thanks, Mike! The colours did work out nicely in that photo, didn’t they?
    Happy Hogmanay!

  14. Kelly Jene replied:

    Absolutely stunning! I love the lightening path. Gorgeous!! Just glancing through your blog, your photography is breathtaking. I can’t wait to read more.

    It’s nice to see another home school mom around!

  15. nengaku replied:

    Those pictures make me want to get up and take a walk – even though I just returned from one! Just BEAUTIFUL! And makes me a bit homesick for Scotland.

  16. Blog Safari: January 1, 2008 < Postcards from the Funny Farm replied:

    […] Amy Palko Takes amazing pictures! She’s an excellent and thoughtful writer too. Go check out her blog. […]

  17. Forrest replied:

    The fractured, meandering, and finite paths are nothign short of incredible … great work!

  18. amypalko replied:

    Welcome, Kelly Jene! Glad you liked the photos. Hope you’ll visit again soon 🙂

    I’m desperate to go on another walk too, Nengaku, but unfortunately it has been pouring rain ever since Sunday so I’m hoping the weather turns cold soon. Otherwise we’ll be trudging in mud! I always feel homesick when I leave Scotland. I’m OK for a wee while, and then it hits me and I just have to return home. Scotland has such a hold on my heart.

    What a lovely comment, Forrest! Thank you! I have quite a few photos on this blog which you can view by checking out my photography category.

  19. A Little Clarity « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […] 1, 2008 A Little Clarity Posted by amypalko under Environment, Photography   When I was walking through the glen, I was struck by the variety of sounds the water made as it trickled, burbled, fizzed, and roared […]

  20. toni replied:

    You go to the most interesting and inspiring places. I loved the story of the paths. 🙂

  21. ambuj replied:

    wow… lovely photographs….. wish you a very happy new year 2008 🙂

  22. amypalko replied:

    I guess I’m just really fortunate to live in such close proximity to such places, Toni. Glad you liked the story!

    Thank you, Ambuj! Wishing you a wonderful 2008 too 🙂

  23. nouveaufauves replied:

    I have been meaning to check your blog again in hopes you are back from your trip and have some great shots to share. These are really exciting. They are wonderful compositions….could even be abstract paintings.

  24. amypalko replied:

    Thank you, Nouveau Fauves! What kind praise 🙂
    I am really enjoying my photography at the moment. In fact, I just took some lovely shots of my son’s hand and my own which I’ve used in the post on Sparky Parenting. I think they turned out quite nicely!

  25. Chiaroscuro « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […] time, only to discover I have taken images which are all variations on a theme.  You may remember my many path photos from my walk up Dollar Glen.  When I got home and first saw those photos, I was struck by just how […]

  26. Adam replied:

    Thanks for the photo’s, I stay near Stirling and have been on this path many times!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

