A Little Clarity

When I was walking through the glen, I was struck by the variety of sounds the water made as it trickled, burbled, fizzed, and roared through, over and under the formations of rock. What with all the stress of the lead up to Christmas and, of course, the festive period itself, I’ve found that being close to water has soothed my mind; it has provided me with some much needed clarity. Although my photos can’t come close to the actuality of being there and listening to the movement of Alva Burn, I do hope that they can evoke some small part of the experience.

Alva Glen Waterfall

Waterfall Close-Up

Alva Burn Ripples

Alva Burn Close-Up

Gurgling Rush

Water Pipe Rush

A Trickle

Waterfall in Miniature

Parting of the Grass

Waterfall at the End of the Trail

Stark Water

Flow

What gives you clarity? How have you destressed post-Christmas?

January 1, 2008. Environment, Photography.

13 Comments

  1. Andrew replied:

    These photos are gorgeous. Is this Scotland? It is beautiful. I am envious of such great photo opportunities. I have destressed by staying sober and taking my medications. I am feeling much better these days. Have a Happy New Year!

  2. amypalko replied:

    Yes, this is central Scotland, Andrew. These hills are called the Ochils and they’re about 5 minutes drive from my house. For a long time now, I’ve taken them for granted. I’ve known them all my life, except when I was little I thought they were called the Opals, and that they had veins of opal running through them! I’m only now beginning to discover their true natural beauty.
    I do think, though, that there are great photo opportunities everywhere. We just have to try looking at things in a different way.
    Glad you’re feeling better, Andrew, and I hope 2008 is good to you 🙂

  3. damien replied:

    Another beautiful set of photos Amy. To destress I’ve been on the trampoline with my 3 year old, hearing her infectuous laugh. Readin Dr.Seuss books with her has been amazingly peaceful as well. the kids have it right!

  4. joker the lurcher replied:

    they do! but nothing beats how a waterfall sucks the air out of your lungs when you stand close to it…

  5. nouveaufauves replied:

    incredible. Your photo images give me clarity.

  6. Elaine replied:

    beautiful photos Amy,is this Stirling,your Dad told me about your website,Happy New Year

  7. amypalko replied:

    Dr Seuss and trampoline sounds a fabulous destressing combo, Damien! My fav Dr Seuss would have to be Horton Hears A Who. What an imagination!

    How true, Joker, and what a perfect description of the experience!

    What a lovely compliment, Nouveau Fauves! Thank you 🙂

    This is Alva, Elaine, which is just north east of Stirling. Glad you found my blog 🙂
    Happy New Year to you and yours.

  8. toni replied:

    Those photographs are gorgeous! Very very very beautiful! What camera do you use?!

    And hmmmm, I have de-stressed post-Christmas by sorting our leftovers, cleaning my home, catching up on mail and resting at home. 🙂

    Happy new year Amy! Glad to have stumbled upon your blog in ’07.

  9. elaine replied:

    Hi Amy

    Your Dad told me you home educate,i do too,can i get your email address please
    thanks

  10. Mike replied:

    Wonderful photographs! I’ve never seen a waterfall quite like that in person before. That is great you have such nice natural beauty so close by. I studied in Ireland for a semester in college, and I always wanted to make a side trip to Scotland, but I never made it. Now I wish I had!

    To settle down and destress I sometimes read poetry- spiritual poetry in particular.

    I hope your new year has been great so far!

  11. amypalko replied:

    I use a Fujifilm Finepix z100fd camera, Toni. I just got it in November, but so far I’m really happy with it. Oh, and I’m glad you stumbled upon this blog too!

    Sure, Elaine. I’ll send you a wee email in the next couple of days.

    Thanks, Mike! It’s funny because I don’t often think about being lucky to live so close to such beauty. Scotland’s such a relatively small country that you’re never really all that far from anything. It has a lot in common with Ireland, I think. There is certainly an affinity between the people 🙂
    Oh, and it’s so good to find someone who loves to read poetry. I just love poetry so I can also attest to its destressing properties! I hope it’s been contributing towards a peaceful start to 2008, Mike!

  12. Lori replied:

    Great list but Im with you on the resolution thing. I never thought of it that way but you’re absolutely right. Deprivation turns something evil on inside me and I do the opposite. Im a rebel!! Happy TT.

  13. marcia v replied:

    LOve your photos and i an taming my wardrobe lately and it is freeing:>

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

