Thursday Thirteen – Ideas For The New Year

OK, I need to make a confession before I continue this post – I don’t make New Year’s resolutions. They just don’t work for me and never really have. As anyone who knows me will tell you, I don’t deal well with deprivation of anything. Tell me I can’t have something, or I need to cut something down, my inner rebel rears its head, and before you know it, my resolve has dissolved. However, on my travels around the blogosphere this week, I’ve come across some really interesting ways of marking the end of the year, and some great new challenges for the coming year. So this week’s Thursday Thirteen is a chance to share some link-love while also offering a few of my own ideas for shaking things up a bit in 2008.

  1. Shelly’s burning up all her past regrets
  2. Claudia’s practicing some everyday kindness
  3. Penelope’s blogging 365
  4. Jo(e)’s enjoying taking photos
  5. Christine’s focusing on a word
  6. Damien’s going on a blog safari
  7. Leo’s adopting a new habit
  8. Steve’s beginning a raw food diet
  9. Luciano’s trying weekly instead of yearly goals

Some other suggestions:

  1. Become a hero, not a zombie
  2. Chase your dreams
  3. Tame your wardrobe
  4. Discover new blogs (hint: you can start with some great ones on my blogroll!)

So, what did you do to mark the new year? Have you set goals? Are you rebelling against traditional resolutions?

My other TT posts: Christmas Wanderings, The Chill Out Zone, Fairy Tale Lessons, Favourite International Movies, My Passions, Dream Chasing, Origami Wishes, Birthday Nostalgia, Blogging Lessons, What I Found in Madrid, Rules To Live By, My Life in Scent, My Family, New Habits and Memorable Moments

January 2, 2008. Inspiration, meme.

33 Comments

  1. Luciano Passuello replied:

    Hi, Amy. Thanks a lot for the linkage — let’s see how the experiment of “living weekly” works out…
    Have a great 2008!!

  2. Natalie replied:

    I did my goals for the next year for my TT last week. This week I’m focusing on what I’m going to do to achieve one of them. πŸ™‚ Have a Happy New Year!

  3. Ellen replied:

    I’m pretty general in my goals. Onward and Upward works good for me! Happy 2008 and I like the way you presented these…
    http://happywonderer.wordpress.com/2008/01/02/tt-15-ben-franklin-resolutions/

  4. Damien replied:

    Hey! I’m honored to be on the list. Resolutions? I think of it more as clarity. My New Year’s clarity is that I have until April to get my students proficient on the standards … I have a few new strategies to try. I don’t “resolve” to do them, I do them πŸ˜‰

  5. nicholas replied:

    I’m with you! I never make New Year’s Resolutions. If I want to do something, I won’t wait until the start of a year to determine to do it. And if I don’t want to do something, then the resolution is purely cosmetic. Let’s just try to live well, and happily. Thank you for all those entertaining posts and photos during 2007. I’ll be loitering in here a lot in 2008!

  6. SandyCarlson replied:

    I don’t make resolutions, either. “Breathe” seems to get me through the day.

  7. Greatfullivin replied:

    The last News Years resolution I made I have been able to keep for many years, that is not to make any more New Years resolutions! Thanks for all the links, I checked out a couple and will check the others out later.

  8. SJ Reidhead replied:

    I am so not good at resolutions. I have the attention span of a sugared up 3 year old!

    SJR
    The Pink Flamingo

  9. Rae replied:

    Great post all of them I also decided to try and blog for 365 days on my other blog lol hope I can make it lol Happy TT

  10. No nonsense girl replied:

    Great post!!!!! Love the new look!!!!

    Happy New year!!!! Lots of peace, love and joy

  11. Janet replied:

    I’m focusing on a word (discipline), joined the flickr project 365, and joined The Biggest Loser at work (I WILL win the moneypot)!

  12. CandyQ replied:

    I usually don’t make resolutions but I wanted to try one more time with much more realistic goals.

    Will be checking out the links!

  13. Wacky Mommy replied:

    Links, yay! Happy New Year.

  14. Yuriko replied:

    I’m not one for resolutions either… that’s why I listed songs I just got from iTunes instead. LOL. πŸ™‚ Happy New Year!

  15. damozel replied:

    I have firmly resolved to make NO resolutions except the one that says I get to try to do what I like ALL THE TIME. It won’t work, but at least it will be more fun than the other sort!

  16. Yen replied:

    I don’t do resolutions either:) Nice list you got here though!
    My Thursday 13 is up as well! Happy New Year!

  17. Deanna Dahlsad replied:

    I’m no good at resolutions like this either… But a big “Can Do!” for the last one πŸ˜‰

    Happy TT!

  18. amypalko replied:

    I look forward to reading all about it, Luciano!

    Great strategy, Natalie. It’s all fine and good to have lofty goals, but knowing how to achieve them is absolutely vital for their success. Wishing you lots of luck with them in 2008!

    Onwards and upwards sounds a pretty great goal to me, Ellen. Best of luck with it!

    Damien, you are most welcome! Also, I have to say that I think you have exactly the right attitude. Don’t just resolve: do!

    Thank you, Nicholas, for all your comments and input into this blog over 2007. I hope I can continue to produce posts worthy of loitering around in 2008 πŸ˜‰

    “Breathe” sounds an excellent mantra, SandyCarlson. Sometimes just taking a moment to breathe deep allows us to regain perspective and lets us progress calmly and without stress.

    That sounds like my kind of resolution, Greatfullivin! Hope you enjoy following up on the links πŸ™‚

    What a wonderful way of putting it, SJ Reidhead! I might have to borrow that. After trying to calm down a fair few ‘sugared up 3 year olds’ in my time, I think it’s a great metaphor!

    Best of luck blogging 365, Rae. I’m not sure I could do it!

    Glad you like the new look, No Nonsense Girl. I really like it too, although I’m still getting used to it. It means that I can get my full photographs in the posts now, which is so much better! Anyway, wishing you a great 2008 πŸ™‚

    I chose a word too, Janet, which is AUDACITY. I’m going to focus on it every time I feel myself shying away from an exciting opportunity! I didn’t know about the Flickr group, though. I may have to check that one out!

    I think the key is to choose realistic goals and to work out the steps you need to make to achieve them. When you’re checking out the links make sure you click on Chasing Dreams – it might give you some helpful pointers πŸ™‚

    Links are always great, aren’t they, Wacky Mommy?

    I’ve been tempted by a few albums on iTunes, Yuriko. Have managed to restrain myself at the moment, but I may indulge when I get my next pay-cheque!

    I like that resolution, Damozel! Life’s too short not to have as much fun as possible πŸ™‚

    What I liked about the posts that I chose for the list were, rather than setting resolutions, they were establishing goals and stepping up to challenges. They were more about experimentation and play, than placing an annual limit upon themselves. Glad you liked it though, Yen!

    I hope you discover some blogs that really inspire you in 2008, Deanna!

  19. Deb replied:

    Nice 13! Come on over and check out my delicious 13! If you are on a diet, I’m sorry, I am on the weight watchers diet, but I couldn’t resist this post!

  20. Dee replied:

    I just realized…. I have no idea if I even did any resolutions last year. Putting it out there in black and white… I’m going to be accountable!

    Thanks for putting these all in one place, it’ll be great to check them out.

  21. Mike replied:

    Thanks for sharing the links, Amy. They encouraged me to consider new years resolutions in a new way. I think choosing a word instead of a specific resolution is a powerful idea. I’m considering going with “grow” in 2008.

  22. amypalko replied:

    Having just polished off some chocolate praline truffles, I think we can safely say the diet’s off, Deb!

    How true, Dee. By posting your goals and making yourself accountable is certainly a step towards achieving them.

    GROW is an excellent word to choose, Mike. It is a really powerful idea to fix upon one word for the year, isn’t it! It works for me much better than a cut and dried resolution.

  23. geekbetty replied:

    some great links here. can’t wait to visit them. happy new year and TT.

  24. pussreboots replied:

    No resolutions here either. Happy TT.

  25. Karen ~Georgia Angel replied:

    Me too. I don’t like to make resolutions either.

    http://www.ageorgiaangel.com/blog/?p=191

  26. Linda R. Moore replied:

    I’ve set goals this year, simply because there is a lot at stake and a lot to sort out. If I can pull off this year’s goals, or at least make a goodly dent in the most important ones, I could be set for the lifestyle I’ve always wanted: a traveling gypsy writer. πŸ˜‰

    Happy TT! I clicked through and will visit some of the other sites soon. πŸ™‚

  27. Penelope Anne replied:

    Thanks for the linkage sweetie. Great idea.

  28. Elaine replied:

    sounds good to me!! i can’t do resolutions coz i totally rebel as soon as I think of one!

  29. smalltownRN replied:

    Those are amazing photos…..I have found you via Claudia…I have joined her Kindness blogroll, thought I would just drop in to say hello…

  30. Nancy Bond replied:

    My TT this week lists 13 things I aspire to do in 2008. Happy New Year to you and yours. πŸ™‚

  31. organicsyes replied:

    Love this entry! What a great way to connect…i will look at all of the links:)

    Here’s to the resolution for no resolutions!
    s
    http://www.organicsyes.wordpress.com

  32. Around the Everyday Kindness world and Day 5 & 6 replied:

    […] Squirrel is working to find his training wheels,Β  Amy Palko advertised our little project in her TT on things for the new year.Β Β  Nikki at My Husband Calls me crazy didn’t scream at her son’s teacherΒ  after her […]

  33. amypalko replied:

    Thanks to everyone who left comments! They are, as always, very appreciated, even if it does take me a while to respond.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

