Twittering

I have been extremely resistant to Twitter. In the past I have considered it a vehicle through which folk could share the minutiae of their everyday existences. In other words, utter dross. However, I’ve been reading quite a lot about how it can be utilised in a way that doesn’t make you want to run screaming for the (tech-free) hills. So, I’m giving it a shot. I’m just going to be experimenting with it for a while and see how it works out. If anyone wants to ‘follow’ me, you are more than welcome. I promise that I won’t bombard you with what I had for breakfast (cup of tea), what time I went to bed last night (too late to get up as early as I did this morning) or whether it’s stopped raining yet (it hasn’t). I want to use it more as a tool for microblogging, so I imagine that I’ll blog about much the same kind of thing that I do here, only in 140 characters or less.

If you twitter, let me know; I’d love to see how others are using it. Also if you have made the decision to twitter, or not to twitter, tell me why. I’m still very open-minded about the whole thing, so all opinions will be most welcome!

P.S. More links etc. Twitter-related can be found at today’s (21st Jan) Tumblog

January 21, 2008. Creativity.

9 Comments

  1. Penelope Anne replied:

    I have been invited to Twitter a few times, and am going to pass….only because between the 3 blogs, my writing, the homeschooling and the website I seem to be running in circles so much I need nothing else.
    I have something for you at my blog today sweets,
    Mama Bear

  2. amypalko replied:

    I don’t blame you in the slightest, Penelope Anne. It really is with some trepidation that I’ve made the leap myself! Thank you so much for the award, darling. That was very kind of you ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Slutty McWhore replied:

    Hello, Amy! I just discovered your blog because you left a comment on my “BlogHer” introduction. It’s so cool to meet another Scottish female blogger, as there don’t seem to be very many of us around (or haven’t I been doing my research?)

    Ooh, no Twitter for me. I’m tired of all those social networking sites.

  4. amypalko replied:

    It would appear that we are indeed in the minority, Slutty. I’m not sure why – will let you know if I find any others! I’m quite enjoying twittering though. I think the key is to use it to post meaningful content rather than what you’re thinking of having for your tea. I don’t blame you for being tired of the whole social network thing, though. It’s easy to suffer from social network overload!

  5. Linda R. Moore replied:

    I signed up last night to see what all the fuss was about.

    I’m still not sure what all the fuss is about. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. amypalko replied:

    Be warned, Linda – it becomes very addictive very quickly. Before last week, I thought I knew the meaning of the word procrastination. What a difference 5 days makes!

  7. Linda R. Moore replied:

    Oh dear. It is, isn’t it? But I do find it less distracting than instant messengers. And I’ve found a really handy use for it at Markeroni, too.

  8. joker the lurcher replied:

    i have just re-vitalised my twitter account so i can use it to add reminders to my calendar – i am yet again trying to get a hold on my life!

  9. amypalko replied:

    I think the applications for it are really quite endless, aren’t they, Linda? Kind of contributes to its addictive quality though ๐Ÿ˜‰

    What calender do you use, Joker? I’ve just started using 30 boxes in an experiment with lifestreaming, so I haven’t actively used it for traditional organising. You can check it out here, though, if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

