Rainy Day Reflections

Rainy Day Reflections

It has rained here almost constantly for the last 2 weeks. Puddles are huge and irresistible for any small child in wellies.  The rivers are swollen and fast moving. Hills are hidden and fog-bound.  It’s the kind of weather that can get you down after it’s persisted for a while. In Scotland we get so many rain showers that we not only take them for granted, but we also begin to actively resent them. It’s so easy to forget that there are parts of the world where the rain does not fall, the rivers are all but a trickle and the parched earth is defined by its scars, rather than its puddles. Yes, it’s easy to forget to be grateful of the rain.

Kids are a great reminder though.  Splashing through puddles.  Standing with their umbrellas under drainpipes.  Squeals of excitement watching the river rushing by.  They remind you what’s good about the rain.  Colour is more brilliant, more intense against the background of dreich grey.  Hugs and laughter warm the soul, if not the fingers.  The sound of raindrops on wet pavement strike a jaunty staccato.  The smell of fresh, clean, newness pervades the air.

It’s good to be reminded.

January 29, 2008. Environment, Inspiration.

14 Comments

  1. Pages tagged "rain" replied:

    […] bookmarks tagged rain Rainy Day Reflections saved by 2 others     Kimleyers bookmarked on 01/29/08 | […]

  2. On a Limb with Claudia replied:

    Gosh, rain. It so rarely rains here. The winters are cold and the air pollution is awful. I’d love a good dose of rain to clear the air…. You’d probably like a bit of snow, so we’re even!

  3. Kelly replied:

    The weather is quite like that here. We term our seasons in warm rain, cold rain, hot rain. It can get tiresome, but like you said, seeing it through a child’s eyes can make a world of difference.

  4. jase007 replied:

    Hi i found you,not had much of a chance to read all yet…but have linked the feed???? not even sure im speaking the right lingo….LOL
    JASON THE BARBER XXX

  5. Daz Cox replied:

    🙂 the best thing I read all day, thank you!!!!

  6. Daz Cox replied:

    rainbows make up everything
    and sometimes you can see’um
    when the light is shining right
    in skys and backyard strea-ums

  7. amypalko replied:

    I like snow, Claudia, until I have to go out in it! Then my joy turns to sludge quicker than the snow does! Wishing you some rain to clear the air where you are.

    The only hot rain I have ever experienced, Kelly, was in Singapore. The novelty alone alleviated the fact that I was soaked! The kids help me to remember the novelty of cold rain which is no easy task.

    Hello Jason – I think you mean subscribed to my feed. Internet lingo can be like a foreign language, can’t it! Have fun deciphering it all 🙂

    Thank you, Daz, for the lovely compliment and the poem. It made me smile!

  8. Autumn Song replied:

    What a lovely picture! And a great post, Amy. I have mixed feelings about rain: it’s nice to watch from indoors when I don’t have to take the little dog out in it, but not so much fun when I have to be outside. Maybe more adults should spend time wearing wellies and jumping in puddles…

  9. Here Comes The Sun « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […] dragging myself around, and by early evening I had absolutely zero energy.  I wrote my post on rainy day reflections yesterday as an (successful) attempt to remind myself about all the good things I had seen that […]

  10. amypalko replied:

    Absolutely, more adults should puddle jump, Autumn Song. Seriousness is sooo over-rated, don’t you think 😉

  11. Damien Riley replied:

    Oh my, quite lovely cobblestone pic and the words are just wonderful.

  12. amypalko replied:

    Thank you, Damien, and thank you for including this post on your blog safari!

  13. Liz Strauss replied:

    I know the feeling. I feel it when I read your words. Yes, it’s good to be reminded so beautifully.

  14. amypalko replied:

    What a lovely compliment, Liz! Thank you so much for taking the time to comment. It truly means a lot 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

