Music Which Touches The Soul

Don’t you love it when you go to the cinema and find yourself completely blown away by the musical score. I remember seeing all these movies that follow: sitting on plush, red velvet seats, surrounded by the dark and the scent of popcorn, the music overwhelming me, summoning irrepressible emotion. Isn’t it amazing that music has such a strong influence on the soul?

The Piano

Philadelphia

Hilary and Jacqui

Brassed Off

Shawshank Redemption

What movie blew you away with its musical score? What do you think it is about music which calls to our deepest emotions?

February 5, 2008. Inspiration.

11 Comments

  1. toni replied:

    Oh wow, the Shawshank Redemption was brilliant. The music was key to its beauty too!

    I was most recently moved by the music of the movie “Once.” It is about a brokenhearted musician who meets a beautiful stranger — they then learn that their music styles complement each other and they make the most of a week of musical togetherness, as the best connections can only come… once. šŸ˜‰

  2. Penelope Anne replied:

    Wow, powerful question….but what comes to mind is…
    1. Footloose, it was like a huge anthem, rally call for the youth to get behind in the eighties.

    2. Titanic, it was romantic and moving.

    I do like the Shawshank Redemption and Philadelphia’s scores as well. I think many movies scores get overlooked, as I felt 300 had an excellent music score, and strangely many horror films have awesome musical scores but the blood and gore hide the viewer from it.

    Very thought provoking question.

  3. Fiona replied:

    The Sound of Music has one of the most overpowering musical scores, all the way through, which is possibly why I tend to blub through most of it, every single time!

    Edelweiss in particular just fills me up from the very first chord, and as soon as Christopher Plummer takes over the vocals from the children, I can’t speak for the emotion plugging up my throat!

    I think music pulls at the emotions because it’s a very primal thing, an instinctive communication between humans. Music can convey such enormous emotion without a word being spoken, and the music of nature too touches us; birdsong, waves crashing against the shore, the wind sighing through the woods – I think music is a very deep part of nature and our souls.

  4. bobleckridge replied:

    Ooh…too many to list! All the ones you’ve posted here, but also American Beauty – a BIG favourite of mine; In The Mood for Love – in particular the violin solo which accompanies the female lead’s walks down the narrow staircase for noodles; Garden State – one of the best collections of Indie songs ever; I Am Sam – what can I say? I’m a Beatles fan! And some of the most moving scores are the Lord of the Rings trilogy (and I include Annie Lennox’s “Into the West” there); and while I’m on about trilogies, what about Three Colours? (especially Red and Blue in my opnion)….oh, I’d better stop!

  5. JoaN replied:

    Hi!

    I stumbled your blog through BlogHer, and I love your pictures here! I’ll be a regular visitor here, for sure! Would you mind exchanging for links? Mine is:

    http://www.scribbledthought.com

    Thanks!

  6. Nicholas replied:

    “2001: A Space Odyssey” and “Oh, What A Lovely War” both had music that stayed with me long after I had seen them

  7. Damien Riley replied:

    Chariots of Fire. I recall my whole family staying in the theater through all the credits just to hear the score. I know I am aging myself.

  8. amypalko replied:

    I don’t know that film at all, Toni, but I’ll definitely check it out. You’ve made it sound wonderful!

    You’re right, Penelope Anne, many musical scores do get overlooked because of the content of the film or the genre of the film in the first place. I suppose all we can do is to be alert to it ourselves and let others know about it šŸ™‚

    As you know, Fiona, I’m a huge fan of the Sound of Music. Can you believe that my husband has never ever seen it? When it comes on, the kids and I all sit down and have a good blub and he goes into the kitchen! Oh, and I think you’re spot on about nature forming a part of our musical environment. I hadn’t thought of it in relation to this, but it definitely fits! Thank you šŸ™‚

    Do you know, Dad, at various points I had the music from Blue and Into the West on the list! In fact the post started off as a piece about Van Den Budenmayer. Oh and I just love those strings on In The Mood For Love. I have that track on my ipod, and often listen to it on repeat. Just beautiful! I haven’t actually seen Garden State… Can I borrow it šŸ˜‰

    Hi Joan and welcome. Glad you found me here. What I’m doing with adding people to the blog, is that I subscribe for a while before making a decision, so I’ll head over and sub this morning.

    I’m with you 100% on 2001, Nicholas. I’ve not seen the other one! It sounds familiar though. I’ll watch out for it coming on the telly.

    Oh yes, Damien, Chariots of Fire! In primary school, I remember how we all used to do our slow-mo run whilst singing(?) the Chariots of Fire soundtrack. Very memorable. In fact, I’m hearing it in my head as I write this!

  9. Kelly replied:

    The Sound of Music most definitely, as well as The Phantom of the Opera… oh, it gave me shivers.

    For me, music moves my heart. It can evoke emotion as soft as a whisper and as loud as a train. It can easily become the soundtrack of my day … or the beat of my heart.

    Great post!

  10. Will Bell replied:

    I really love Angelo Badalamenti’s movie work. His best score, I would say, is for David Lynch’s The Straight Story. Really beautiful. It’s also hard to beat the collection he composed for use on Twin Peaks.

    The best song-based soundtrack I’ve heard on a film recently was on Trailer Park Boys: The Movie. Lots of Rush and Tragically Hip put to very good use. Not particularly high-brow, but there you go.

    The Blues Brothers beats The Sound of Music. Controversial…?

  11. amypalko replied:

    What a beautifully lyrical comment, Kelly! You encapsulate perfectly the power music has over our us. Thank you!

    Hi Will! Glad you found me here šŸ™‚
    I love Badalamenti’s work too. I actually played the music from Twin Peaks on the piano for my Music Higher. Really quite hypnotic, isn’t it? I’ve not heard of Trailer Park Boys – I’ll need to check it out. Oh, and don’t worry about high-brow; it’s generally over-rated šŸ˜‰
    As for your last point, for me personally, Rocky Horror trumps both!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

