Hope Is The Thing

My little boy came running in to the house yesterday afternoon clutching a small white feather in his hot, chubby hand. He placed it beside me like some humble offering, saying, “This is for you, Mum”, before running back outside again to enjoy the rare winter sunshine.

Hope is a thing with feathers on 2

Feather and Sky 2

Flower Egg Quilt

‘Hope’ is the Thing with Feathers

‘Hope’ is the thing with feathers –
That perches in the soul –
And sings the tune without the words –
And never stops – at all –

And sweetest – in the Gale – is heard –
And sore must be the storm –
That could abash the little Bird
That kept so many warm –

I’ve heard it in the chillest land –
And on the strangest Sea –
Yet, never, in Extremity,
It asked a crumb – of Me.

Emily Dickinson

February 7, 2008. Environment, Photography.

8 Comments

  1. mrschili replied:

    A thing all the more precious for the one from whom it came…

  2. amypalko replied:

    Absolutely, Mrschili! Precious, indeed.

  3. diane replied:

    I still have some of those childhood offerings from my two married children, and remember picking spring violets for my own mother.

    Some things, thankfully, never change.

    diane

  4. nengaku replied:

    Hope is an interesting concept. Personally I strive for a mindset in which I have no hope. Hope implies that this moment is somehow less than perfect – that something *better* will be in the future. I’d rather be in a place where I accept/embrace/celebrate everything that *is* just the way it is. Well – I guess that can include my dreams, my fantasies about the future, my wishes and intentions – but that’s all somehow different than “hope.”
    But I rarely get there. 🙂

  5. nouveaufauves replied:

    oooohhhhh. Thank you for the Emily Dickenson. Perfect choice for those photos.

  6. Dianne replied:

    Oh yes, thanks for the Emily. It was perfect as were the feathers.

    I have a giant treasure chest of all the lovely things my son (now 34) has presented to me over the years. Priceless stuff.

  7. opengroveclaudia replied:

    Gosh. That’s lovely! How delightful that you received such a precious thing from your son – including a bit of sun! Yea!

  8. amypalko replied:

    How nice to have kept them, Diane. I must make sure I have a ‘safe place’ to put them from now on!

    Wow, Nengaku – what an interesting philosophy! I’m going to have to give that one some more thought…

    Glad you like the poem choice, Nouveau Fauves. You can’t go wrong with a bit of Emily, can you?

    Thanks, Dianne. How lovely to have a treasure chest! That must be so lovely to have a look through on a rainy day 🙂

    Yes, Claudia, the sun was also most welcome! Back to fog again today, though.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

