Photograph Challenge February 2008 – Patterns

Graham over at One Man’s Travel Blog has issued a new photography challenge for February. You may recall that January’s challenge was ‘One’, and I contributed a few photos that I had taken of the Wallace Monument. This month’s theme is ‘Patterns’ and I’ve decided to participate using these photos that I took last week of peacock feathers. One of my friends has a peacock called Oscar, a peahen called Connie and 3 baby peachicks, that live in her garden. They have such beautiful plumage, and last year, when Oscar was shedding his feathers around the lawn, she very kindly gave my children some feathers to take home with them. They now decorate my lounge, but a couple of days ago, I decided to take them upstairs and take a few photos of them in direct sunlight. I love the resulting shots of feather and shadow. See what you think.

Peacock Feather Study 2

Peacock Feather Study 4

Peacock Feather Study 6

Peacock Feather Study 9

What patterns particularly appeal to your eye?  Which do you prefer, the patterns found in nature or in civilisation, such as these amazing pics from Tokyo.  Or do you prefer a more random aesthetic altogether?

February 9, 2008. Photography.

11 Comments

  1. Graham replied:

    Oooooooh my goodness!!! These photos are pure sublime! I am amazed at how much detail is visible. The colours, the texture…. amazing… quite frankly breathtaking!

    In answer to your question at the end, it is the patterns in nature that really appeal to me – Whether it is a sea shell, a snow drop, a leaf or a bird’s feather as you have here. However (and this is where I reveal my indecisive side…lol!) I also appreciate some man-made patterns like the weave of a rug, the lines of a ploughed field, the stonework of an old country wall.

    Congratulations on such a beautiful selection. I’ll add it to my February Challenge post very soon :o)

    Take care and I hope you are having a wonderful weekend!

    ps. Please let me know if you have any suggestions for a March theme. I am planning to add any theme suggestions to a poll before the end of Feb.

  2. mrschili replied:

    Your photographs are beautiful. Thank you for sharing them.

    To answer your question, I think that I am inspired and awed by a great many things, both natural and man-made. I was particularly struck by your final photo – the colors are gorgeous – but I also think that architecture can be beautiful. I think, really, it’s just a matter of paying attention…

  3. nouveaufauves replied:

    We are all awed by these. I can see that from the other comments. I’m just nuts about the one at the top but they are all wonderful, each in its own way.

  4. Joanna Young replied:

    Amy, they’re amazing. I love the first two in particular, almost black and white, shadows dancing. They remind me of words on a page 🙂

    Joanna

  5. opengroveclaudia replied:

    I like the patterns of these features because they are familiar. I knew from the first one (without reading the text) that these were peacock features. I have many run ins with peacocks that live in the zoo 1/2 block from our house – and as a child. The pattern brings up those feelings of warmth. A very nice thing for a Sunday

    Thanks!

  6. amypalko replied:

    Oh, I’m so glad you liked them, Graham. I had a lot of fun taking them! Also, I do have an idea for March’s theme – how about ‘home’?

    I think you hit the nail on the head here, Mrschili. I think it is all to do with attention. The more engaged you are in the world around you, the more you notice all the magical patterns, both natural and man-made.

    Wow, thank you, Nouveau Fauves. What a lovely comment. I’m pleased that you liked them so much 🙂

    They are like words on a page, aren’t they Joanna! I hadn’t noticed that before, but now that you mention it, I can’t help but see it. How appropriate!

    How lucky, to live so close to such beautiful animals, Claudia. I bet you heard them a lot as well as catching sight of them. I think that they almost sound like a woman wailing. A very mournful sound.

  7. Chica replied:

    Those are really cool, I especially love abstract macrolike pictures such as in this post. 🙂

  8. sexyinred replied:

    Awesome photos…
    I love the color in the last 2 photos
    It’s just beautiful 🙂
    Thanks for sharing it

  9. amypalko replied:

    Thanks Chica. The abstract ones worked out nicely, didn’t they?

    Glad you liked them, Sexyinred! I’ve always loved the iridescent colour of peacock feathers, so I was extremely pleased that I managed to do them justice in these photos.

  10. Choc Mint Girl replied:

    Wow! The last photo is amazing!! It really shows off a perfect pattern. 🙂

  11. Choc Mint Girl replied:

    Well done!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

