In A Celebratory Light

Well, I don’t know why, and I most certainly don’t know how, but my router is up and running again and connecting me to the internet. I just discovered this when I returned home from such a lovely walk with my mum and kids up to Bracklinn Falls, near Callendar (about 14 miles from Stirling). My dad very kindly picked up a 2gb memory card for my camera in Japan yesterday, so I just had to test it out on the walk, by taking lots of pics, didn’t I?

Here are a few which captured the very special light which enveloped us as we walked to the waterfall and back:

Moss Spores in Sunlight

Amber Water

Red Sandstone Water

Frozen Rockpool

Trees Reflected

Rockpool Reflections

Bracklinn View

Big Fish

Oh, and meet Hamish the Highland cow, but you’ll need to be quiet as I think he’s fallen asleep.Β  Shhh…

Hamish the Highland Coo

February 12, 2008. Environment, Photography.

15 Comments

  1. dmcordell replied:

    Thank you, Amy!

    Your photos always bring me a measure of serenity and joy.

    diane

  2. amypalko replied:

    I’m so glad you like them, Diane, and that they brought you similar emotions to the ones I experienced whilst taking them πŸ™‚

  3. LivSimpl replied:

    And here I was expecting boring pictures of your router. πŸ˜‰

    These are beautiful!

  4. hensteeth replied:

    Our gone but forever beloved rescue dog Jessica Cairn would have loved that walk. Me too.

    But she would have woken up Hamish.

  5. Kelly replied:

    Takes my breath away! I love the cow, so fuzzy and cute. I’m glad your internet is back up, it stinks to have it gone. Though it is refreshing to stay off every now and then.

  6. amypalko replied:

    Och no, LivSimpl, I wouldn’t bore you with photos of my router, despite the joy I feel every time I look over at it and see its 4 green lights shining triumphantly against its black plastic casing… As you can probably tell, I am really happy to be connected the net again!

    Despite my children’s best efforts, Hensteeth, there was literally no way that cow was going to bat an eyelid, and trust me, my kids can be really loud when they want to be. I think you would have been quite safe with your Jessica πŸ™‚

    He is fuzzy and cute, Kelly, but he is also enormous; I wouldn’t want to be in the field with him! Oh, and you’re right about the broken internet connection – it was refreshing in some ways, and I’ll probably write a post later today about my offline time. So glad to have it back though!!

  7. joannayoung replied:

    Amy I’m glad your router is fixed and you’re back with us.

    Your photos are absolutely stunning, shot 2 & 3 of the water just blew me away.

    Joanna

  8. Autumn Song replied:

    What a lovely walk – and the first two photos are absolutely breath-taking. How beautiful.

  9. Nicholas replied:

    Absolutely beautiful! You spoil us.

    But isn’t Hamish a bull, not a cow?

  10. Penelope Anne replied:

    Your nature pics are so delightful to see, in comparison to the winter sights here now, in fact I posted some shots of outside this morning. Note to self, wear more than the jammies, robe, and slippers to take pics in winter.
    Love the cow, bull.

  11. amypalko replied:

    I especially like number 2 as well, Joanna. I like how the reflection of the amber leaves and russet bracken are reflected in the gathering pools.

    It is such a nice walk up there, Autumn Song. I think the last time I was up there, before the other day, was about two years ago. Think I’ll need to go more often!

    Technically, I expect he is Nicholas, but I’ve honestly never heard anyone refer to a Highland Bull!

    I’m amazed, Penelope Anne, that we have slipped into Spring so quickly and easily this year. February is not normally known for its blue skies around here! I’m most certainly going to make the most of it though πŸ™‚

  12. Mike replied:

    Wow, Amy… the colors, the shapes, the reflections, the movement… as usual, I’m amazed by your photography.

    What a cool cow! We certainly don’t have cows like that here in the eastern US! LOL

  13. toni replied:

    Your photos are always so awe-inspiring. Lovely! Thank you for sharing that beautiful light with us.

  14. amypalko replied:

    Oh, I’m so glad you both like the photos so much. Your encouraging words are so very appreciated!

    And, Nicholas, you were right about the bull/cow thing! We drove passed Hamish again yesterday and there’s a big sign up saying “Come and meet Hamish: Our Highland Bull”. Just as well I didn’t try to milk it, hey πŸ˜‰

  15. The Flooded Loch « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […] banks of yesterday is called Loch Achray, which is located near Brig ‘O Turk: a village above Callander but south of Balquhidder. Now, it’s not a loch that I’m particularly familiar with, but […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

