That Book

I’m writing this on Sunday night whilst still frustratingly offline due to my router difficulties, but I just had to write this down as I am so chuffed.  Tonight my youngest learned that he can read in his head instead of out loud!  Now for some this may not seem like a big deal, but I’ve noticed that when a child learns to read in their head they not only gain in confidence but they also get the reading bug.  And my wee one is no exception; he has spent the whole afternoon with his nose in a book.  In fact as I write this, he is upstairs reading himself to sleep!  It’s truly moments like this that give me confidence in myself as a mother and as a home educator.

It’s the first book in a series called Beast Quest that has captured my son’s imagination and turned him onto the magic of the written word.  It was Dahl’s George’s Marvelous Medicine that did it for me.  What book did it for you?

UPDATE: Still offline. Fingers crossed it’ll be sorted tomorrow.

February 12, 2008. Inspiration.

4 Comments

  1. Nicholas replied:

    I can’t remember which was the first book I read in my head — but then I can’t remember not being able to. Logic tells me there had to be a first time, so I shall have to appoint an official first book, and it is The Secret of the Unicorn. A Tintin book. He was my hero, and I still have them all!

  2. amypalko replied:

    I think that’s fair enough, Nicholas 😉

  3. Robert Hruzek replied:

    I’m like Nicolas, I just remember reading all the time, but don’t remember the first one. But what captured my imagination and gave me a lifelong reading obsession were boxes and boxes of my Uncle’s old Analog Sci-Fi magazines I discovered in the attic of my grandmother’s house one summer!

  4. amypalko replied:

    Thank you so much for the link to your post, Robert. What a wonderful discovery! Did you know that Stephen King also made a similar discovery of his father’s old magazines in his aunt’s attic? I’m afraid I’m a big wimp when it comes to the dark, so have not had a comparable experience. The drawback of an overactive imagination 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

