Chiaroscuro

Chiaroscuro has long been a fascination for me.  And it seems that the strong contrasts between light and dark are now calling to my subconscious.

Framed

The Doorway

Sliver of Light

Portcullis with Shadow

Light at the End of the Tunnel

I always find it so intriguing when I arrive home from a trip, and load my photos onto my computer to survey them for the first time, only to discover I have taken images which are all variations on a theme.  You may remember my many path photos from my walk up Dollar Glen.  When I got home and first saw those photos, I was struck by just how many shots I had taken of paths.  And, yes, I’m sure part of it is to do with the physical environment that I’m photographing.  But, I’m also pretty sure that it’s also partly related to my internal environment too.  By that, I mean, it has to do with what is going on in my life, and how I am connecting to the inevitable changes that life brings.  With the paths, I had been thinking a lot about which direction I should take in my life’s journey.  I felt I needed to make a change, but I didn’t know what exactly.  I really feel that this predominant state of mind came through loud and clear in some of the photos I took at the time.  In particular, it came through in the photos of the paths.

So, the photos that you see in this post were all taken on Monday when I went up to Stirling Castle.  When I first looked at my collection of photos taken on Monday, these examples of chiaroscuro really struck me, as I had taken them over and over.  I chose the most striking examples to upload on to Flickr and to share with you here, but believe me when I say that I have many more on my laptop!  So, of course, I’m moved to try and get at the root of this particular slant of my attention, this skewing of my perspective.  I like to think that it shows that I’m beginning to catch sight of the light at the end of the tunnel.  Or that I have found enlightenment in some area of my life.  In each case I feel like the light is approaching rather than receding, but then I always was a glass half full kind of a girl!

So, anyway, I’d like to put it out to you.  What strikes you about these images?  Do they speak to you, and what’s going on in your life?  Do you find that your subconscious speaks to you through your photography, or indeed through your writing, your painting, your art?

February 21, 2008. Inspiration, Photography.

8 Comments

  1. Joanna Young replied:

    Hi Amy, once again I’m finding myself in love with the combination of your pictures and your words. You really do explore such wonderful, creative ideas!

    And yes, my pictures and my writing do reveal what’s going on. Even the smallest of things – yesterday at the end of the day I realised that all the comments I’d left around the blogosphere were notes written to myself 🙂

    Joanna

  2. Robert Hruzek replied:

    It seems like the chiri… chia… chiaroscuro (!) technique means the subject (bright areas) actually demand your attention. Compelling, in a dramatic way.

    ‘Course, the playful person inside me can’t help itself… so I’ve named image #4 (the portcullis) thus: “Please Wait Here”. Must have been a civil servant’s office…

  3. barbara replied:

    Fascinating photography and questions. Definitely a portal of sorts, lovely time to explore?

  4. Milan replied:

    Lovely photos … I needed this, some distraction but then, your question … I’m wondering is it possible to photograph a scream?

  5. amypalko replied:

    I love that, Joanna: leaving notes to yourself through the blogosphere! Makes me want to go back and read some of the comments I’ve left recently.

    I think that’s a fabulous title, Robert! Let’s rename it 🙂

    Barbara, you are so welcome to explore. I truly hope you enjoy what you find!

    Big hugs to you, Milan. I know of the huge upheaval going on in your neck of the woods, and I can only imagine the turmoil that you must feel on a political, social, and, of course, personal level. If I can offer a small distraction by way of this blog, then I hope to have given some small relief, if only temporarily. Take care, my friend.

  6. Penelope Anne replied:

    Hey love I nominated you for Best Photography blog at http://www.bloggerschoiceawards.com/
    also Best Parenting. You need to sign in, claim your blogs and you get buttons, if you are interested….your photography is far superior to most of the stuff being nominated.

  7. amypalko replied:

    Oh, wow, Penelope Anne, I’m gobsmacked, as we say in the UK! Thank you so much 🙂
    I’ll head over and claim my blog now.

  8. Blog Safari: 2-22-08 : Postcards from the Funny Farm replied:

    […] Chiaroscuro Amazing light and contrast pictures from amypalko, one of my favorite photobloggers. […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

