The Flooded Loch

The loch that we walked along the banks of yesterday is called Loch Achray, which is located near Brig ‘O Turk: a village above Callander but south of Balquhidder. Now, it’s not a loch that I’m particularly familiar with, but you didn’t have to be to realise that this loch is currently larger than it usually is, and that is was even larger not that long ago. We’ve been getting a lot of rain this last week, and consequently a lot of rivers have burst their banks, the fields are waterlogged, and mud predominates along woodland walks. Yesterday was the first day in a while that the sky cleared and blue sky prevailed. However, several heavy rain showers swept across the land, but fortunately we only got caught out on our walk once. The rest of the time the weather was blustery, but bright. One of the things that caught my eye (apart from the cattle) was the blue tones of the water as it mirrored the blue of the sky, and how the blue was broken up by the reflections of tree branches. Also, as you’ll see, because of the flooding, the reflections of the trees extended further than they would normally do, caused by the swollen waters. Anyway, here are some photos so you can see what I mean. The first photo shows the extent to which the loch has burst its banks, while the second shows the fence in close-up with the grass caught in its wire from a recent, more severe, flooding. The rest are of the beautiful blue waters, and the reflections I found resting upon their surface.

Flooded Loch

Stranded

Rippling Blue

Branch Reflections

Branch Reflections 2

Branch Reflections 3

What can you see mirrored in the reflective surfaces in your part of the world?

February 28, 2008. Environment, Photography.

10 Comments

  1. Toni replied:

    Oh my, those tree silhouettes are so mysterious and beautiful. Fantastic pics as always.

  2. barbara replied:

    Lovely set of photos.

  3. Penelope Anne replied:

    I can’t see beyond the glare of the snow currently dearest.
    Soon the spring thaw will come and we will be hitting the trails.

    PS…do I have mail coming?
    Yeah I can be pushy, shoot I better push myself and respond to a few letters.

  4. Joanna Young replied:

    Fantastic photos Amy.

    You inspired me to take a lot of pictures when I was away and to experiment a lot more than usual. It was fun, and definitely helped me to see things differently. Makes for a much less ordinary walking experience!

    Joanna

  5. bobleckridge replied:

    really, that fuji camera of yours does blue like nothing else! Lovely!

  6. amypalko replied:

    They do rather create an air of mystery, don’t they, Toni!

    Thanks, Barbara! Glad you like them 🙂

    It won’t be long now, Penelope Anne, before the snow begins to recede and the spring flowers begin to show their colour. As for something in the post – I have written something, and I’ve even bought stamps! I am determined that I will get my act together this coming week. Sorry, it’s taken so long!

    Hey, Joanna, I’m so glad you were inspired to take photos and that you had fun while doing so. It really does make for an entirely different experience of life, in general. I never go anywhere without my camera, and am always on the look out for a photograph. It has revolutionised the way I perceive the world.

    You know, Dad, ever since you pointed it out to me, I’ve become so much more aware of the blue in my photos. I just love it!

  7. mrschili replied:

    Amy, all I’ve got in my part of the world is SNOW GLARE.

    You’ve got some GORGEOUS photos. Thank you so much for sharing!

  8. hensteeth replied:

    I’m catching up with your posts, and so enjoying your pics.

    The series of light and dark photos just take my breath away. Your lens captured the journey out of the present to the possibilities beyond. Just stunning. Thank you.

  9. amypalko replied:

    We didn’t get any snow where I live this last winter at all, Mrschili! We normally get at least a couple of inches, so I don’t know what happened to it this time. Maybe you got our share, in which case sharing my photos of our unsnowy landscapes is the least I can do 😉

    You are so very welcome, hensteeth. I’m so pleased you enjoyed them, and I hope I can continue to take photos which you’ll find just as breath-taking 🙂

  10. radha replied:

    if the one of the pictures is the real blu it i sone of the most beautiful water-blu I have ever seen ! here in HK we see the skyscrapers mirroring into the water. Actually I live very close to a pier whose marine section is extremely large from one coast to the other of teh city. hence we can admire the reflection of the pure sky in it. HK is a multi-island territory and everywhere the mirroring-games are different!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

