The Sunshine After the Rain

The last photos that I want to share with you, from my walk in the Trossachs the other day there, were not taken at Loch Achray, but at the loch adjacent: Loch Venachar. There’s a lovely cafe on the banks of Loch Venachar, and as we sat there eating our lunch, we watched the storm clouds roll in, the waters getting choppy, the rain begin to pound the jetty. And then, just as suddenly as it began, the storm passed, the sun would reappear, the loch became smooth and the rain-soaked boardwalk would start to dry out. There’s something so uplifting about watching the sun triumph from behind the dark, rain-heavy clouds. You get the feeling that truly anything is possible, and that any hardship you may meet along the way is but a temporary aberration. My spirits felt lifted and my soul felt as weightless as air.

Hello Sunshine

Loch Venachar Jetty

Rainwater Boat

Do you find your spirits affected by the weather? When the sun appears from behind a heavy rain-cloud, how does it make you feel?

February 29, 2008. Environment, Photography.

6 Comments

  1. Joanna Young replied:

    Amy, yes it does, and again I’m thinking about your chiascuro ideas – darkness and light, sunshine and rain, it’s the shifts and changes that make things interesting and give us energy.

    I found the wind very energising when I was away (I am fortunate enough not to be a fisherman or captain of a ferry boat!). It was just so outrageous, so preposterous it made me laugh. There was nothing else for it 🙂

    Joanna

  2. Damien Riley replied:

    I prefer the sunny times of the year. I think sunlight does affect mood.

    Those are great pictures. I love the contrast and sun breaking through.

  3. Mrs. Chili replied:

    I can tell you, with 100% certainty, that my spirit is impacted by the weather.

    February is a terrible time of year for me. New England Februaries are usually cold and wet and dark – for the shortest month of the year, it is by FAR the longest.

    We’ve been in a wicked stretch of too-cold, snowy weather, and I feel about beaten. I’m trying to tread the proverbial water until spring, but goodness only knows when that’ll be – I could be waiting well into April.

    Wish me luck – I’ll need it.

  4. amypalko replied:

    That’s what the wind was like when we lived on the north coast of Scotland, Joanna. It left you bedraggled and breathless, but it most definitely woke you up from a dwam. Hoping it left you refreshed for your new theme of Inspiration this March 🙂

    I love that contrast too, Damien. I find it extremely uplifting and hopeful.

    Normally our Februaries are like those you describe, Mrschili, but this February has been much milder than usual and we’ve had lots of lovely blue sky. Sending you some lovely Scottish sun for the month of March! Oh, and I’ll keep my fingers crossed that Spring starts soon in your part of the world.

  5. Daz Cox replied:

    *inspired*

  6. amypalko replied:

    Thanks, Daz!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

