Dear Mum,

Early Spring Daffodils

I’m sitting at the kitchen table eating fresh, still warm, yoghurt with runny honey swirled through.  You were always so conscious of your children eating healthily: date bars, carob, home-baked bread, sesame snaps.  I can still taste the dark tang of apple and pear spread layered thick over fresh bread.

I’m rummaging through a treasure chest of craft supplies: sequins, glitter, felt, wool, ribbon, card, crayons – my imagination driving me to create something new, something beautiful, something sparkly.  You would offer help with the scissors, and then you stood back to see what my creative genius would produce.  The result: a Christmas tree decorated with tinselled mince pie cases and wooden peg angels.

I’m leaning against the door frame watching you put on your make-up: copper rose blush, brown black mascara, light coral gloss.  And I remember thinking that you were the most beautiful woman in the world.  Funny thing is, my opinion remains unchanged.  To my eyes you still are and will always be.

I’m standing next to that same door again, this time in my wedding dress, and I’m watching your eyes tear up when I ask if I look okay.  A big hug and a fresh application of mascara, and we were downstairs waiting for the cars to arrive to carry us to my wedding, and to the next stage of our mother/daughter relationship.

I’m panicking because the midwife has arrived and has told me we don’t have time to get to the hospital.  I know you were scared too, but you took my hand and you calmed me.  You stayed with me the whole time until I gave birth to my little boy, and nothing felt so right as when I saw my son, only minutes old, in your arms.

I could not be the mother that I am today without these memories.  Of course, it’s only after you have children yourself that you can fully appreciate just how hard the job of raising kids is.   Now that I have three of my own, I find I am continually amazed at your constant encouragement, your unending support and your seemingly limitless patience (although I know I tried it on several occasions!).

Thank you for being the wonderful mum you are and for providing me with so many happy memories.

Happy Mother’s Day, Mum.

March 2, 2008. Inspiration.

16 Comments

  1. mrschili replied:

    I wept for this. I am a motherless daughter.

    Thank you for sharing what a daughter’s feelings for her mother should be – it’s another little shiny bit I’ll tuck into my treasure chest of learning how to BE that mother to my own daughters. It’s hard work to do when one doesn’t have a good example to follow…

  2. Deb in OPKS replied:

    That was so beautiful. I have that kind of closeness with my mother as well. It makes me so sad when I hear of people that don’t get along with their mother. It is such a special bond that I cherish always. The fact that my mom’s mom died when she was only 4 makes it even more special to me. She had no role model, like she gave me (except her siblings). Thank you for sharing it and I love the daffodil!

  3. barbara replied:

    A lovely tribute. Any mother receiving this would be bursting with love and pride right now. Beautifully written.

  4. joker the lurcher replied:

    i’m with mrs chilli on this – tough stuff to read but i am so glad for you

  5. amypalko replied:

    A big hug for you, Mrschili, this Mother’s Day. It’s stories like yours that make me realise just how fortunate I have been and continue to be. Being a mum can be one of the toughest jobs there is, but I think that by acknowledging how tough it is, and by stating your desire to do your best by your daughters, you have already cleared the first hurdle. I know that it’s ‘hard work’, especially when you haven’t had a good example to follow, but ultimately even those with the best role models struggle. After all, no-one is perfect, and we all make mistakes, but as long as we learn to forgive ourselves and continue to try our best, we’ll all keep moving forward with positivity and hope.

    Your mum sounds like a very special person, Deb. She clearly did a good job, as you now share such a strong bond!

    Thank you, Barbara! I did get a phone call from my mum, and she did like it, so that was nice 🙂

    I’m sorry that you found this difficult to read, Joker. I structured the post so that it highlighted the importance of happy positive memories, but please know that we have it in our power to create these memories every day; the memories we forge for ourselves, and the memories we help others to create for themselves, all stem from the moments which make up our everyday lives. Wishing you many happy moments in the years to come, helping to lay the foundations for a multitude of happy memories.

  6. Penelope Anne replied:

    What a beautiful post…mothers are the source of Blog Your Blessings today, and daddy is my Sunday Scribble.

  7. Jen replied:

    That was so beautiful; I’m sure you have made your mother so proud. X

  8. Zhu replied:

    Oh, that’s so touching! You seem to have wonderful memories of your childhood and to be close to your mum. Great!

    Love the picture too. I miss the flowers… still buried under 3m of snow in Canada!

    Thanks for finding me on the web — glad I found you too!

  9. Toni replied:

    This is so touching and beautiful! Thank you for sharing your intimate moments with your Mom with us. It reminds me of the intimate moments I’ve shared with my own Mama. I think I’ll give her a call today. Thank you.

  10. nouveaufauves replied:

    Are those crocuses in your yard? It must be Mother’s Day somewhere. What wonderful experiences to have in your memories. I have been thrown into a reverie about my Mom. I must find a photo to post.

  11. Joanna Young replied:

    Hi Amy

    It is a beautiful piece, a simple evocation of love.

    I hope you had a wonderful mother’s day.

    Joanna

  12. amypalko replied:

    Thanks, Penelope Anne! Glad you liked it. I really enjoyed your post on your dad 🙂

    I think I have, Jen. On the whole I don’t think I turned out too badly 😉

    You’re right, Zhu, I do have wonderful memories and a strong bond with my mum. Glad I could bring you some springtime flowers. I’m sure the snow will thaw soon and you’ll have some of your own to photograph!

    So glad to have served as a reminder, Toni, and I’m also really glad that this post stirred you to give your mum a call.

    Yes, those are crocuses (croci?) in the background, and the shot is taken at my grandad’s garden. Looking forward to reading more of your reverie!

    I did, Joanna. It was lovely! I hope you had a good day too.

  13. Daz Cox replied:

    🙂 being a man I don’t have quite the same experiences but it is nice to read, thank you!

  14. Autumn Song replied:

    How beautifully written, Amy. I love how you’ve constructed it around memories over time. It brought a lump to my throat and a smile to my face!

  15. Diane Ferri replied:

    Amy, Just ran across your blog and read a beautiful post. Thanks for sharing it. Diane

  16. amypalko replied:

    Oh, I don’t know, Daz! A son surely bonds with his mother just as strongly as a daughter does, doesn’t he? Glad you like it anyway!

    I thought it might appeal to you, Autumn Song. I know you have such a lovely connection with your own Super Mum 🙂

    You are most welcome, Diane. Thanks for allowing me to share it with you!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

