8 Random Things About Me

Me

Joanna, over at Confident Writing has tagged me in the ‘8 Random Things About Me’ meme. In her own response to the meme, she included Jeanne Dininni‘s non-rules on memes and tagging, which I just have to share with you here, as they really appeal to me and they resonate with my own approach to memes:

1. Give yourself permission not to complete it if you lack the interest, inclination or inspiration to do so (that way you’ll only write it if you do).

2. Allow yourself to ignore the hurry element:

We need to give ourselves the freedom to take as long as we need to discover whether there is in fact any spark of inspiration buried within us that would allow us to approach the meme with enthusiasm, curiosity, and enjoyment–rather than forcing ourselves into the drudgery of a dreaded task.

3. Focus on the meme and shape it the way you want, make it your own.

How could I resist after reading those rules? So without further ado…

  • I was christened on Christmas Eve, and when my parents left the church, the first snowflakes of the season drifted gently down from the heavy sky.
  • My birth certificate is signed by Dr. Love.
  • I only started taking photos to illustrate my blog posts, and, in so doing, I discovered a new passion for photography.
  • I always thought of myself as an indoor person (as opposed to an outdoor person), until recently, when I realised how much I enjoy walking in amongst the Scottish countryside.
  • Some of my favourite films are shot in black and white: Sabrina Fair, The Black Swan, A Matter of Life and Death, Some Like It Hot, Rebecca, Roman Holiday, From Here To Eternity…
  • I am a really awful housewife. I love to cook, but I hate to clean or tidy or do the laundry or the vacuuming or the ironing or the dusting. Most of the time, I live on the cusp of disorganized chaos.
  • I would love to dance a lot more than I do. I used to go clubbing 3 or 4 times a week as a teenager, and I miss the energy that would flow through me, as I danced into the wee hours of the morning.
  • I cry very easily. Whether it’s an exquisite piece of music, a beautiful piece of art, a well-acted film, an exceptional animation, a considerate compliment or a simple ‘I love you’, tears begin to course their way down my cheeks. Utterly irrepressible.

Well, those things about me are probably as random as you can get, but I hope you enjoyed reading them. I was going to choose some of you to tag, but instead what I’d like to ask you all to do is share one random thing about yourself in the comments.

Go on – See how random you can be πŸ˜‰

March 10, 2008. meme.

18 Comments

  1. mrschili replied:

    Right now, I am DEEPLY wishing that I’ll win one of your prize packs. I’m practically radiating “pick me, pick me!!” from across the ocean…

    That’s not random enough, though, so how about this:

    If it’s sunny out, I’ll wear my contact lenses; if it’s rainy or dark, I’ll wear my glasses. Part of that is laziness – not poking the contacts in saves me a few minutes in the morning – but part of it is that I don’t have prescription sunglasses…

  2. sarahstewart replied:

    Thanks for dropping by my blog. I see you are a fellow PhD student – what are you studying? cheers Sarah

  3. joker the lurcher replied:

    random, hmmm. i thrash about so much in my sleep that my hair is backcombed when i wake up

  4. On a Limb with Claudia replied:

    What a great photo of you! And so nice to see your face on a Monday. I love to walk in nature as well. I am the same type of housewife. I can step around all clutter. It takes real effort for me to actually clean or do other things. Especially loud things like vacuuming. πŸ™‚

  5. Jeanne Dininni replied:

    Amy,

    Thanks for the link–and the visit–to writer’s Notes, as well as the reference to my thoughts on memes! Appreciate them all!

    It’s wonderful to meet you and read these very interesting facts about you! Your photo is lovely!

    My random thing: When I was born, the hospital misspelled my name on my birth certificate, spelling it J-E-A-N. My dad insisted that they correct it, which is the only reason my name is spelled J-E-A-N-N-E today–a spelling that I love so much more! (Glad my dad was so persistent!)

    Take care!
    Jeanne

  6. Zhu replied:

    Dr. Love? Wow, that’s kind of cool!

    Agreed, the picture is great. Natural yet artistic…

    Love reading these “about me” memes once in a while, getting to know blog writers better.

  7. Daz Cox replied:

    I have a homemade tattoo of a heart with two caterpillars on my leg!

  8. captain stardust replied:

    i have never lived in one place for more than seven years.
    i am always homesick for someplace far away.
    i can cook virtually anything but eggs, which i almost invariably ruin.
    i wish i were a better, more interesting and more prolific blogger than i am.
    i love canoes, and once canoed 36 miles down the colorado river between california and arizona.
    lately i find that the most interesting people i know are people i know only online.

  9. Kelly replied:

    I adore the meme rules and couldn’t agree more! I love that you cry at everything because I thought it was only me. All the things you mentioned can make me choke up, just looking at my boys can do the same.

    One random thing about me…..for some reason, when I sneeze, I can’t get out that one loud satisfying sneeze. I sneeze multiple times – my record being 14 in a row. And it sounds like a yapping Chihuahua.

  10. Joanna Young replied:

    Amy I love your random things, esp the first two which explains the last one πŸ™‚

    I’m afraid I can’t think of any more after my efforts yesterday.

    Joanna

    PS the photo is fantastic – love the choice of books too!

  11. Teacher Girl replied:

    Completely Random…

    My first memory is one of driving home in our old pea-green (thereΒ΄s that colour again) Chrysler through a snowstorm with my mom and getting stuck on a tiny back road near our farm. It was my birthday and I was turning three. The funny thing is that my mom says it never happened.

  12. amypalko replied:

    Thanks to everyone so far who has shared a random fact about yourself. I’ve just loved reading them πŸ™‚

    Prescription sunglasses are on my wishlist too for the summer, Mrschili.

    I’m in the 4th year of my research into the work and career of Stephen King, Sarah. Nearly there!

    I refuse to even look in the mirror until I’ve dragged a brush through my hair, Joker. Although I know some manage to turn bed hair into a personal style statement. Never quite managed to pull that one off myself…

    So good to know you’re averse to housewifely duties too, Claudia πŸ˜‰ Have you read this poem, btw?

    Welcome Jeanne! I love the spelling of your name πŸ™‚ Oh, and thank you for those meme non-rules; I just love them!

    They are good fun once in a while, aren’t they, Zhu?

    After your post the other day there, Daz, this revelation comes as no surprise πŸ˜‰

    Captain Stardust, maybe you and I could attend a poached egg masterclass together? I’ve been trying to make them for years, and every time it’s a dismal failure!

    It’s good to cry, isn’t it, Kelly? Shows we’re empathic πŸ™‚

    Joanna, you are forgiven as you have already given us 8. As for the photo, do you know I hadn’t even paid any attention to the books in the background. They are so much a part of my environment, that it would just seem weird if they weren’t there!

    How funny your mum insists it didn’t happen, Teacher Girl! Maybe it was a memory from a past life πŸ˜‰

  13. kacey replied:

    I started really getting into photography with my blog too! But my birth certificate isn’t signed by someone with a cool name like yours was.

    Hm, random facts. I collect rocks and minerals. Love coffee-black, and tea–hot tea only.

  14. Nicholas replied:

    What a lovely photo! You know, you even look with a Scots accent!

    How nice to see I’m not the only person who loves A Matter Of Life And Death. Most people haven’t even heard of it. Black and white can contribute so much to a film — imagine how David Lean’s two wonderful films of Dickens novels (Oliver Twist and Great Expectations) would look in colour. Not nearly as atmospheric.

    Something random about me? I was born in the cawl.

  15. Penelope Anne replied:

    I do love those opening rules.
    May need to borrow them.

    I am a poor housewife too, Love to make messes, just not fond of cleaning them up.
    Dr. Love, really??? How interesting.

  16. Sugar Mouse In The Rain replied:

    I am not yet active again, but tonight I thought I’d visit your blog.

    Random thing: I forgive but I don’t forget. I have an elephant memory.

  17. nengaku replied:

    I have twelve feathers on top of my monitor. Represented are wild turkey, chicken, ruffed grouse, black-capped chickadee, and something else – can’t remember what it is.
    Is that random enough?
    Peace

  18. Penelope Anne replied:

    Posting today…

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

