The Wallace Monument

I’ve posted quite a few photos of the Wallace Monument on this blog. It’s one of the major landmarks which signals to me that I’m nearly home. It overlooks my university campus. It stands illuminated against the night sky. It is a defining feature of the landscape which reminds of national pride and of liberation. Today, we finally made the trip up the Wallace Monument, and these are a few of the photos that I took in the monument, from the top of the monument and looking up at the monument:

Wallace Monument From Beneath

Wallace Monument Stairwell

Bend in the River

Ben Ledi in the Distance

Sunburst Scenic

Mountain & Gorse

Segmented Sky

The Path Ascending

It is a bit of a climb to the top: 279 steps up a rather narrow spiral stairwell, and that’s after you’ve made it up the hill.  Of course, I only discovered that there was a complimentary bus to drive you up the hill once we reached the top!  But to say that you were rewarded when you finally reached the very top is to put it mildly.  The views were absolutely breathtaking, and the actual structure itself was simply awe-inspiring.  If you ever come over to Scotland, make sure you add the Wallace Monument to your list of must-sees.  I can’t believe I left it so long to visit!

Is there a landmark near you which draws the tourists, but that you’ve never experienced for yourself?  Have you visited a historical site recently?  Which one, and did it live up to your expectations?

March 17, 2008. Environment, Photography.

16 Comments

  1. Penelope Anne replied:

    The intensity f some of those shots made me feel as if I was teetering on the those high precipices with you…I’m afraid of heights so stop that.
    We drove past a historical house this weekend, and I snapped a photo, but as many things are this time of year it was closed for the season.
    I do hope to get to a few places, but near here while we have historical landmarks they come nowhere near as close to interesting as what you have.

  2. Joanna Young replied:

    Amy, the pictures are fantastic – esp in PicLens!

    I’m afraid I rarely go to Edinburgh Castle these days because it’s kind of expensive. I admire the magnificence of the rock every time I go past though.

    Joanna

  3. mrschili replied:

    Sigh. I feel homesick for a place I’ve never been…

  4. LindaH replied:

    My favourite recently visited historical site was Lorca castle. in Murcia, Spain. Amazing place! Here in London there’s lots of historic places of course but none that really grab me & inspire me to go there. When I lived in St Andrews once a year my daughter and I would spend a week pretending to be tourists. I’ll try to make an effort, be inspired by you and take another look at London.

  5. amypalko replied:

    There were a few at the monument today, Penelope Anne, who were struggling with that exact same feeling. Heights don’t seem to bother me, although my middle child suffers from slight vertigo. Once he was up there though with his brother and sister he was absolutely fine. Oh, and I’m sure the sites of historic interest near you are very interesting! I’d love to read about your next trip there 🙂

    PicLens is fab, isn’t it, Joanna! As for the expense, yes, Edinburgh Castle is pretty pricey, although with my Historic Scotland membership we get in for free. Unfortunately the Wallace Monument isn’t part of Historic Scotland (or the National Trust, which we’re also family members of), and so we had to pay for a family ticket at £17. So, yes, it was expensive, but then it’s not something I imagine doing very often!

    It’s amazing how we can have these connections to places we’ve never been, isn’t it, Mrschili. However, just because you’ve never been there, doesn’t make the connection any less real or powerful. I do hope you manage to make a visit over here someday though 🙂

    My daughter is absolutely desperate to go to the Tower of London and see the rooks, and absorb the history, LindaH. Unfortunately London is such an expensive place to visit when you include accommodation. We’ll get there one day, I’m sure!

  6. Damien replied:

    Wow! I need to go to Scotland one day. After all my middle name is Scott 😉 Beautiful post Amy.

  7. despil replied:

    Beautiful photos.
    The entrance fee made me cough, but I worth it I expect.
    Did put on my list of “must visit”-

  8. Wolfie replied:

    Wow..these pictures are well taken..!!

  9. A Lost Writer replied:

    Thanks for the tour! It was breathtaking. When I think that we haven’t gone on a family holiday in 18 months, I’m grateful when I can get a virtual tour like this one. 🙂

  10. kacey replied:

    Wow, what beautiful photos. Thanks for sharing! The one of the stairway is fantastic. Great mood on it. And the one with the light breaking through the clouds? Wonderful!

  11. Karen Swim replied:

    Amy, your photos are stunning! I am just speechless each time I view one. You have such a talent for capturing the finest detail and evoking a mood with a single photo. I look forward to each new post and each new photo. Thank you Amy for sharing your incredible gift of words and pictures.

    Karen

  12. Autumn Song replied:

    Thank you, Amy. These made me smile. x

  13. Kelly replied:

    Gorgeous pictures! We are planning a trip for 2010 and this will definitely be a stop for us.

    Around here we have the Space Needle and the Seattle sites. I’ve never been to Mt. St. Helens, the volcano that blew in the early 1980’s. That’s a pretty widely known historic site. I’ve always meant to go, but you know, other things seem more important at the time.

  14. Jackie Cameron replied:

    Hi Amy – I visited the Wallace Monument for the first time last year having driven up the dual carriageway and admiring it from a distance for many many years. It was awesome and your pictures really capture it. I live in Edinburgh like Joanna. I got the chance to be in the Castle after dark ( they do special events from time to time) and it was one of the most interesting experiences. The nightime views were fabulous and there was a delicious air of creepiness too.
    Jackie

  15. Diane Ferri replied:

    Amy, your photos are stunning. I don’t know where Wallace Monument is though!

  16. amypalko replied:

    Yes, you do need to come to Scotland, Damien! And if you need to use your middle name as an excuse, that’s fine by me 😉

    Yes the entrance fee is about as steep as the hill it sits upon. But you’re right, Despil, it was worth it!

    Thanks, Wolfie, glad you like them 🙂

    You’re most welcome for the tour, Lost Writer. I quite often post tours like this one, so if you need a bit of escapism while you plan your next family holiday, do pop by!

    I took a few of the stairs, Kacey, as they really were beautiful with the light streaming through the slits in the thick sandstone. This is one of the few that worked out nicely, but I’m rather pleased with it 🙂

    You are most welcome, Karen. I’m so pleased that you enjoy visiting here – it reassures me that what I’m doing here is worth while.

    I thought they might, Autumn Song 😉

    Oh, Kelly I would love to go to Mount St Helens! I’ve always been fascinated by volcanoes, and I don’t think I could pass up an opportunity to visit one. If you do go, you must let me know what it was like.

    That sounds incredible, Jackie! I’ve often gone up to the castle during the day, but never at night. I’ve been up to Stirling Castle in the evening as I once attended a ceilidh in the great hall, and there is just something so magical about visiting a castle under the cover of darkness, isn’t there?

    Oops, sorry Diane! The Wallace Monument is in Stirling which is midway between Edinburgh and Glasgow in Scotland, UK. Glad you liked the photos 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

