There Is No Blue

Van Gogh apparently said, “there is no blue without yellow and without orange”. I took this photo of Grandma’s African Violet last week, and, after discovering Van Gogh’s colourful perspective, I couldn’t agree more.

African Violet

Who is your favourite artist? Who makes you see the world with fresh eyes?

PS Sunday was Van Gogh’s birthday, so to celebrate I posted some links, images etc. over at the Tumblr.

Painting details: Starry Night, oil on canvas by Vincent van Gogh, 1888; in the Musée d’Orsay, Paris

March 30, 2008. Creativity, Inspiration.

7 Comments

  1. wonderwebby replied:

    it’s always lovely to read your posts Amy. I have to say, we visited the Musee d’Orsay on our honeymoon and I was in heaven. In fact, I had to sit outside on the steps after a couple of hours just to close my eyes and breathe…it was so overwhelming. I like Rothko, Chagall, Blackman, Man Ray & Lee Miller, Howard Taylor. paintings that make you feel alive, convey an emotion, express a feeling. As art critic John Ruskin once said “what we want art to do for us is to stay what is fleeting, and to enlighten what is incomprehensible, to incorporate the things that have no measure, and immortalise the things that have no duration”

  2. Kelly replied:

    I love the color combo’s. I’m kind of uncultured I guess as I don’t have a favorite artist. Although I am fond of Shel Silverstein. Take care!

  3. Toni replied:

    Vincent Van Gogh definitely tops my list. His paintings resonate with me the most!

    Combine his art with e.e. cummings’ words and BOOM! The world is illuminated.

    Lovely flower too!

  4. jameil replied:

    i looooooooove georgia o’keefe. i’m like a crackhead for that one. that African Violet is gorgeous!!! delish.

  5. Karen Swim replied:

    Amy, the African violet is beautiful. Favorite artists,hmmm, well in addition to that talented Amy Palko, Van Gogh, and Chagall are among my favorites. Thank you Amy for once again showing us the beauty in the ordinary.

  6. Daz Cox replied:

    🙂 I just saw the yukkiest Van Gogh painting ever! The Metropolitan Museum of Art in NYC has an unfinished ‘ugly baby’ painting by our friend Vincent, oh boy, it is not pleasing at all! hehe, just because the man did some great art doesn’t mean EVERYTHING is good!

    but yeah, I love Van Gogh, my favorite movie is Lust for Life the 60’s bio-pic on Vincent with Gauguin too yea! another favorite!

    Luckily there was a quite nice Gauguin painting there but what makes me happy every time I go visit there (I’m only an hours train ride and 5 minute cab ride away wheee) is the absolute best Renior painting ever, the girls at the piano one AND the best Rubens painting ever, the portrait of him and his wife and their toddler – perfect!

    I could blather on for days about my favorite artists hehe, but yeah today I’ll say that Renior is my favorite, his painting the Girls at the Piano, is just right, not too polished, not too abstract, not too sentimental but showing a moment of pure happiness – *runs around joyfully*

  7. amypalko replied:

    Thank you so much for sharing that quote, Wonderwebby. I just love it!

    You don’t have to be cultured, Kelly, to know what you like 🙂

    Oh, I love e.e. cummings too, Toni! We’re clearly kindred spirits 🙂

    Oh yes, Jameil, Georgia O’Keefe is simply fabulous! Great choice.

    I’m looking for it all the time, Karen!

    Here’s a link to my favourite Renoir, Daz: Woman Reading .

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

