The Soundtrack Of Our Lives

One of my favourite things to do is to trawl through YouTube, and find the songs that make up the soundtrack of my life.  When I think back over the last 15 years or so, I define many of the transitions I’ve made by the music I was listening to at the time.  As I reach back through time, my memories are awakened by those familiar opening bars, a long-forgotten chorus or an achingly beautiful melody.  I feel my heart swell, as I’m swept up into the music, and those lost moments of yesteryear feel tangibly close.

Here are 5 clips from the soundtrack of my life:

Suzanne Vega – Tom’s Diner

Moloko – Time Is Now

Radiohead – High and Dry

Oasis – Wonderwall

The Sundays – Here’s Where The Story Ends

What songs make up the soundtrack of your life?  Why don’t you go on a YouTube treasure hunt, and post some links here to some of the songs special to you?

April 2, 2008. Inspiration.

7 Comments

  1. Tarrant replied:

    This is the soundtrack for my life right now…a mommy baby love song. (She wrote it about her sister and niece sort of) Of course, my kids think she wrote it for me about them. My girl child sings it with me. And as I offload many things I own to move to follow them to their new home…more appropriate than ever.

  2. Joanna Young replied:

    Funnily enough one of mine from my youth was I Don’t Like Mondays. I had the words pasted onto the wall next to my bed, and the Rats stared down at me from my ceiling. I was quite spooked when you posted it on Twitter on Monday morning!

    Joanna

  3. Penelope Anne replied:

    I am so going to tuck this away to do when life settles down, I love this idea.
    Hope all is well, if you haven’t written a letter yet email me for the new address and the date of the move.
    sassylucylootoo@yahoo.com

  4. Daz Cox replied:

    hehe, I was just looking a sticker of a japanese punk rock band that is long gone and remembering how much they mean to me!

    Randy Uchida R.I.P (rest in punk)

  5. stefp replied:

    I could list a hundred of these but I’ll be brief and pick one.

    This was the first REM song I ever heard and it’s still my favourite of all the songs they’ve ever recorded. It’s just a beautiful tune and the lyrics (those that you can actually decipher) are great as well. I’ve picked it because it always takes me back to the eighties and my first year of college in Glasgow.

    REM – Talk About The Passion.

  6. Graham replied:

    Amy, you have a wonderful selection here. Suzanne Vega’s “Tom’s Diner” is such a heartfelt song and brings back many memories for me.

    There are a handful of songs that represent parts of my life, but none more than “Born under a wandering star” from the film Paint Your Wagon and sung by the legendry Lee Marvin…

    My grandad used to sing it to me whilst I was sat on his knee when I was very little. It has remained in my heart ever since (My grandad has a gravel voice similar to Lee Marvin, which made it even more magical). It has been this fond memory that has given me the desire to travel and learn more about myself.

  7. amypalko replied:

    Thanks for all of these! I’m going to enjoy listening to them all 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

