A Sunday Roundup

It’s been a busy couple of days, so I just thought I’d bring you all up to date with what’s been going on with me, and with some friends from around the blogosphere:

  • The first piece of news is that I was interviewed for a Scottish newspaper, Scotland on Sunday, on my research for my phd.  It was an interesting experience, but quite disconcerting.  I’m used to being in control of my words, and so to relinquish that power was really quite unnerving.  Anyway, you can check it out here, if you want to see the result.
  • Robert Hruzek has announced the WILF topic for April and it is…. Odd Jobs.  If you’ve never participated in one of Robert’s writing projects, then I encourage you to have a go this month.  It’s a great way to meet new bloggers, and you will almost certainly be entertained by the entries that you read.  I’ve joined in the last 2 months (which you can read here and here) and only have positive things to say about my experience.
  • Joanna Young, over at Confident Writing, has launched her new theme for the month of April, which is POWER.  She’s got quite a lot planned with an emphasis on participation, so you should head over there now to see how you can become involved.  She’s looking for guest posts, power tweets and linked posts on the theme.  Joanna is such a generous, hospitable blogger, that I can assure you,  should you join in, you’ll get so much out of your participation.
  • If photography is more your thing, then you’ll want to check out Graham’s April photo challenge.  This month is a bit of a tricky one, in that he has set the theme of the 7 deadly sins.  I think there’s a lot of potential for fun in this theme, though, so why not give it a whirl!
  • I was included in a post by Karen Swim which celebrated Good People Day.  She said such lovely things, which I so appreciate. You should go and check out her blog, as she is such a friendly, generous soul and that really comes through in her writing.
  • And lastly, Nenette at Simply Sweet Living, tagged me with the 123 book tag. The rules are:
    1. Pick up the nearest book of at least 123 pages.
    2. Open the book to page 123.
    3. Find the fifth sentence.
    4. Post the next three sentences.
    5. Tag five people.

OK, so the first 2 books I picked up had no text whatsoever on p123.  The third was Alice Munro’s The Beggar Maid, and on p123 I found: “She dressed exclusively in old clothes of Clifford’s.  Old pants that didn’t quite zip up on her because her stomach had never flattened out after Adam, and frayed white shirts Clifford had once worn for performances.”  I won’t tag anyone specifically, but if you fancy having a go, feel free!

Right, well, I think that’s us up to date now.  What’s your news?

April 6, 2008. Admin.

11 Comments

  1. Nenette replied:

    Congratulations on the newspaper interview… I understand what you mean about being not in control of your words. I was interviewed by a national women’s magazine for my polynesian dance school, and the final product was a little different than I’d expected. My words were slightly twisted, not significantly, just enough to make me think “that’s not really what I meant”.

  2. Joanna Young replied:

    Amy, thanks for the round-up and for encouraging people to take part in my power theme. The more voices the more powerful the blog… as you demonstrate so well here 🙂

    Joanna

  3. captain stardust replied:

    congrats on the article, though it is indeed a bit strangely written. but at least it’s not wildly inaccurate… a coworker and i talked to a reporter last fall for an article on library activities and we were both blatantly misquoted!

    i’ll play the book game: my nearest is Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez:
    “In the dream, the tongue depressor was made not of aluminum but of a delicious metal that she had tasted with pleasure in other dreams, so that she broke it into two unequal pieces and gave him the smaller one. When she awoke she opened the letter. It was brief and proper, and all that Juvenal Urbino asked was permission to request her father’s permission to visit her.”

  4. Graham replied:

    Wow Amy, congratulations on your article. Also a very warm thank you for your comment about my April Photography Challenge.

    I wish you a wondeful week. Best wishes ~ Graham

  5. Nicola replied:

    Wow! Cool article. Did you get to meet Stephen King? Does he get to be one of the first to read your thesis?

  6. Daz Cox replied:

    The usual Thing. While he was busy I was busy too giving Angelina a quick hug and she hugged right back. The professor, wrapped up in his work, never noticed that we were wrapped up in ours.

    From “The Stainless Steel Rat Wants You!” ha! Good old Slippery Jim DiGriz always enjoying the moments before he has to save the universe again! Harry Harrison rules!

  7. Daz Cox replied:

    oh wow congrats of the PHD and article!

    I quit reading SK after Deloris Clairbourne and never really returned by maybe you can convince me!

  8. wendikelly replied:

    Amy,
    I really enjoyed the links to Robert and Joanna. I am sure to be spending some time over there this month.And although I love taking pictures, I wouldn’t hold a candle to you as a photagrapher. I amy go lurking however. Nice list of suggestions.

    Hmm,about the book. Sitting at my desk here, the book in front of me is The Sneeches and other Stories, by Dr. Seuss, and alas,it only has 65 pages. Perhaps when I am inspired to get off my duff, I’ll go find a bigger book!

  9. wendikelly replied:

    Oh, and congrats on the Ph.d interview!

  10. Autumn Song replied:

    Congratulations, Amy! How did you get the interview?

  11. radha replied:

    i am having fun: my entry for the book: the closest to me right now on my office desk is “The keys of wisdom” by Linda Williams.

    The students were sitting outside under the trees, cooled by a pelasant evening breeze, drinking coconut milk out of green coconuts and eating a kind of pancake with pickles off plates made from palm leaves. Various different conversations were going on and each of the new arrivals had a small group of pupils around him or her. Lee was sitting with four boys of about his own age.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

